My Favorite Pottery Coffee Mugs - Keeping A Smile On My Face

P1020361.JPG

I Retrieved One Of My Favorite Coffee Mugs ..

Out of the cabinet just above the coffee pot, sugar, and smell of freshly ground coffee beans. I had to take a second to process my thoughts and my feelings, then carefully pick the one that I would soon raise to my lips for the first taste of liquid gold. After pouring a mug of goodness and snapping into reality, a little bit, I realized that the cabinet door was still open. As I peered back into the cabinet, I wondered if I had made the right choice. It's at that moment that I knew that I would share these choices.. My Mugs.. with you today.

The Line Up ..

Can you guess which one I chose today?? Come on now.. Look at the picture! It should be pretty easy to figure out 😉 So here I have them all lined up and laied out. Over the years I've drank countless gallons of coffee from these beauties. Over those same years I have slowly developed my favorites, and that may change again as the years pass again. They all have a very special place in my heart and remind me of our close friends, who owned the company that made them. Eldreth Pottery.. Which sadly they sold a few years ago to one of the master potters that worked for them. Well.. at least I have these mementos, but there are days that I wish I had gotten a few more.

P1020362 2.JPG

A little different angle so you can get a good idea or perspective of the shapes they display.

P1020363.JPG

So Let Me Introduce You To Them One By One ..

It won't take too long. There's not a lot to say and I have to get back to drinking my coffee anyhow!

First up is my only stonewear mug. Unlike the others, this mug is a natural grey color with hints of cobalt blue color. There are several reasons that this may be my favorite of the group. The colors alone, how the blue contrasts against the grey, visually commands my attention and somehow relaxes me. The roughness to the piece is also appealing. It has bits of sand, stone, and iron that casts a rusty appearance to certain spots. The shape of the piece is the winning reason I love it so much. It flairs almost perfectly where my hand curls toward the center. I suppose one could say it fits like a glove. The shape of the handle lends a perfect balance when holding it. If it was just a tad bit deeper, it would be perfect! It holds about 14 ounces max.. I wish it held 16. Still love it though!

P1020360.JPG

Next we have my second favorite mug. This one, as well as the rest of them, is a redware mug. Just a different type of clay, and most of the redware is painted over the entire surface. Strangely, I use this one all year round even though it has a winter or Christmas like theme. It is thin, light, green (I like green), and it holds 16 ounces of coffee with room to spare! If your hands are cold and your looking to warm them up, this is a wise choice. Both hands fit perfectly around this one.

P1020359.JPG

Here we have my wife's mug. I call it that because I typically grab this one for her most days I make coffee for her. I don't know why, other than it has always appeared a bit more feminine to me than the others. I like the shape and color of the mug, but sometimes it feels a bit off balance due to its small base. I am always afraid of tipping it over.. making me wonder why on earth I give it to my wife! She's always spilling things.. haha just kidding. Shes good, but I consider it hers.. the rest are mine!!! OH,.. Except for the next one.

P1020349.JPG

The next one.. The Black Sheep Mug! Oh yes, this one is my wife's too! She's the black sheep, so it's only right she has this one assigned to her for her use. hehe I am in trouble after she reads this one. It's her Birthday tomorrow.. I better be good.

P1020354.JPG

We also have a twin to the black sheep mug; The White Sheep Mug. Although not identical, they both are roughly the same size. They are awesome for firm balance. They both pear out at the bottom, giving them superior stability. If I am going to be working on the cars or puttering around the yard or house, these are the mugs I go for. This way I help to ensure I won't be "crying over spilled coffee", if that's even a thing. They hold 16 ounces but that 16 ounces comes right up to the top! They are a bit heavy, but the look of them is why I gravitate to them.

P1020355.JPG

Quite simply, this is one of my least favorites. Its a bit heavy and the handle is awkward. It sticks out too far and you can only fit maybe one finger through it. It may be a bit to Christmasy for me most of the year. But hey, on the merry and bright side, it looks like new! Perfect for those guests that over stay their welcome and ask for coffee..haha.. I'm cruel. Now only if we had friends who wanted to hang out with us.

P1020356.JPG

Ummmmm... Dito the last mug.. creepy smile, but well keep it around.

P1020358.JPG

This little guy used to be my favorite, until I began drinking larger portions, larger pours of coffee. Unfortunately that is when it took a back seat in the cabinet. I still go for it on days I only want a small cup of joe. The floral design, although a bit feminine, appeals to me. Hey!, Flowers are not just for girls!! I like them too. The dark brown/red, the comfort I feel when it's in my hands, and the beautiful two finger handle makes this one a winner. On the small cup of coffee day of course.

P1020353.JPG

That's All Of Them!

Well at least my Eldreth Pottery mugs anyhow. Swing by sometime and I'll let you use one. I'll even let you take first pick! Really!! Have a great weekend guys. A great weekend with some coffee involved, I hope. Share a picture of your favorite mug, below in the comments if you dare 😁

Have A Great Day or Night my fellow Hivesters!!

text16.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

text16.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

text16.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

PHC and C2 tag.png

text16.png

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocdb, @art-venture, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @theluvbug, @c-squared, and @helpie - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

text16.png
text16.png

013.JPG

I am sorry Molly, but you may not drink from my favorite mug!

text16.png
text16.png

~ A Steemit Post ~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49