THE MOST BEAUTIFUL MOMENT OF MY LIFE @vectorshore

photo-1502086223501-7ea6ecd79368.jpeg
Source

Greetings to every member of this great community, I want to share the most beautiful moment of my life. The most beautiful moment of my life was when I was given admission into the university. I was given admission into Federal University Otuoke, in Bayelsa state to study Computer Science and Informatics for a duration of four (4) years.

How it happened

Before applying for the school, I had already written Joint Admissions and Matriculations Board (JAMB) examination, and I wrote JAMB twice.

_20210626_192559.JPG
Source

In fact, let me start from my secondary school examination here in Nigeria called West Africa Examinations Council (WAEC).

_20210626_192436.JPG
Source

I wrote my WAEC twice also. The first time I wrote my WAEC was in 2014, and I failed a subject. It was English Language. I was given F9 and I know the reason was because I refused to indulge in examination malpractice, and cooperate with the invigilator for that paper that day. He asked that everybody should pay the sum of N1,500 so that he can allow us do exam malpractice, but I didn't have any money on me so I refused. Not just only me, but a few number of us. Now, if I had the money I would have paid, and here's why; The Nigerian examination system is so corrupt that even if you know everything in the world, (in most cases) you must pay a fee to pass your exam. This was my case that day. I know I am very good in English Language, but I don't have such money to pay. Another thing is that, even if you don't want to indulge in examination malpractice, just give them what they want and do your thing, else they might just throw your paper away on their way back to the examination board.
I know I wrote my English exam very well that day, but when the results came out, I failed, because I refused to pay for malpractice. And English Language is compulsory to enter into any higher institution in the country. With that, I had to prepare myself again for the same exam the following year. Some of my friends had good results and did not fail English, but some of us did, because we did not pay.

The revenge and the success

photo-1533227268428-f9ed0900fb3b.jpeg
Source

When I say 'The revenge' I'm not actually talking about doing anything stupid, but actually not making the same mistake. The following year (2015), I sat for the same WAEC examination again, and this time, I was fully prepared to give them whatever they wanted for me to pass my examination. When it was the day for the same English exam I failed a year ago, I did not waste time in paying for malpractice, although I did not indulge in it. I just wanted to clear my name off the mind of the invigilator. When results came out, lo and behold, I passed all my subjects. I was so happy.
Then in 2016, I applied for Joint Admissions and Matriculations Board (JAMB) examination which will put me into the university.
I wrote this exam twice also. The first time, I had a score of 182 out of 400, and the minimum required was 180, but with that score, when I applied for the university I wanted to go, I was denied, that my score was too low for them. I applied at Rivers State University (RSU) in Port Harcourt, Nigeria to study computer science, but my score wasn't enough.

_20210626_194040.JPG
Source

I was given a supplementary form to fill, but when I saw the available courses on that form, none of them related to computer science, so I too in turn, rejected the offer, and prepared again to sit for JAMB the following year. My mum was so bordered that I had not gotten admission yet. She had always been prayerful for my success, and my dad also kept encouraging me not to give up.
The following year (2017) I sat gain for the JAMB examination and when the results came out, I scored 218 out of 400. My mum and dad were so happy for me. I could see the joy in my mum's eyes especially. She was overwhelmed with joy.
Now, I reapplied at RSU, and guess what, they still denied me admission, but I don't have more time, and I can't keep applying at the same school and keep getting rejected, then my mum asked me to apply for another school outside my state. (Rivers State is the state where I was born and lived). Now I picked up a change of course/institution form from JAMB and changed my preferred institution to Federal University Otuoke (FUO), in Bayelsa state with the same course, computer science.

_20210626_194502.JPG
Source

After applying, FUO asked me to come for another exam in the school, and after I wrote the exam, I passed and I was instantly given admission to study computer science and informatics for a duration of four (4) years, which is what they have. I gladly accepted the admission, and I was so happy. When I showed my mum my result and admission status, she was so happy for me, although she was on her sick bed. My dad also was so happy for me. Then the school sent me a mail to resume for lectures in January, the following year (2018). All my exams and admission for the school were processed within October, November and December of 2017. I was so happy to finally gain admission into a university to study a course I have so much love for. My mum and dad were so happy too, so were my younger siblings. And then in January 18th 2018, I moved from Rivers State to Bayelsa State to start schooling. It was a very beautiful and happy moment for me. At the time of this post, I am in my third year as a result of the covid-19 last year as all schools were shut down in my country. By now, I would have been in my finals, but now that will be next year. Oh, and my mum passed away last year (not due to the covid-19), October
17th 2020 to be precise. It was so disheartening, I was so sad. I still have my dad and younger siblings though.
So, this is the story of the most beautiful and happy moment of my life.

@art-bangladesh, @steemcurator01, @eberechi10, @anyiglobal, @starrchris, @cryptokannon

Sort:  

I'm very sorry for the loss of your mom, get a hug from me. I wish you all the success in the world in college and throughout your life.

Thank you so much @alanasteemit. I am absolutely grateful.

Nice one keep it up @vectorshore

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62001.44
ETH 3479.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51