MY FUTURE PLANS

in STEEM FOR TRADITION3 years ago
Thank you very much for the opportunity to share my future plans or dreams with everyone.
![download.jpg]()
[Source](https://www.ghanayello.com/company/32090/37_Military_Hospital)

What do you want to be in the future? I have come across this question every single year if not twice, thrice or so for the past ten years so to speak. My childhood answers were to become a medical practitioner. I just love the complexity of the human body and what sickness or illness can make one feel. So, it is not surprising that I still want to be a Military Physiotherapist. Three academic years of learning the course; that is Physiotherapy, has made me see the world from a very different perspective. “Every single person you see healthy is a potential patient”, one of the famous quotes of my Neurorehabilitation lecturer. As such I want to help as many as I can though my primary dream is to serve the country and the world as a military officer. I have really come to appreciate physiotherapy from the six weeks clinical rotation I went for at Korle Bu Teaching Hospital and 37 Military Hospital; two of the biggest hospitals in Ghana; my home country.
With the little knowledge I have from both the lecture room and from personal interactions with other Physiotherapists and my lecturers, there is more I can do, not just being a military Physiotherapist.


WhatsApp Image 2021-04-08 at 21.44.57 (1).jpeg

I want to further my education even as an officer. I want to specialize in Neurorehabilitation; a combination of neurology and musculoskeletal Physiotherapy. It is one of the fields very dear to me. You get to appreciate the fact that you can actually restore an individual with a neurological deficit like stroke or cerebral palsy back to normal function with time and consistent treatment. In as much as I am acquiring all this knowledge, I want to also impact it to generations to come, create the awareness, draw a lot of High school students into the profession; that is being my own kind of Physiotherapy ambassador of a sort. The number of Physiotherapists within the country is very few and I think it's going to be like that for a long time if the misconceptions about the profession are not cleared from the minds of Ghanaians and others. It then dawned on me that, another way of serving the country can also be through the education sector. I do not want to keep the knowledge I am acquiring at the moment, all to myself. I want to impact the same or at least more knowledge into the generations after me. So, I can teach as a part-time lecturer whiles working as an officer.


blog-Ghana-CBE-learners-600x400.jpeg

Source

I have plans on initiating or starting an adolescent reproductive health club within my hometown. I want to do this to educate the young ones especially the females about their reproductive life, the dangers of premarital sex, and the likes. And encourage them to go to school and take their schooling seriously. The upsurge of teenage pregnancy within my hometown and the surrounding towns is so appalling. These unplanned pregnancies and births have an adverse effect on not just the adolescents involved or their families but the nation at large. I know that with time, it will go even beyond my home village to the entire District. I believe strongly in the words of Dr. James Aggrey, that “if you educate a man, you have educated an individual but when you educate a girl, you have educated nations,” that is why I want to implement or bring into existence this club of mine.


3C622573-466C-40A0-BF03-79DCDDD57304.jpeg

Finally, I plan on having a company that will dwell mainly in the distribution of foodstuff; processed and unprocessed across the country. I believe that there are so many remote places within the country that do not have access to good food as well as portable water. Distributing these foodstuffs from the urban areas to these rural areas at affordable prices or even as gifts will go a long to curb the upsurge of hunger and encourage a lot of people to do the same.

Cc: @steemcurator01
@steemcurator02

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60582.22
ETH 2368.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65