My Imphal tour- A Difficult Moments with extremist

in Helpage India3 years ago

IMG-20210227-WA0046.jpg

Friends, let me share with you some of the experiences serially with you which I have experienced during my official tour.

I used to travel north eastern part of India very frequently from 2004 onwards. Once I was at Imphal (Manipur). At that the time in Imphal work started early in the morning around 6 am and almost over by 2 pm to 2.30 pm.

I and my junior colleague who belongs to Imphal itself were supposed to go outskirt of Imphal around 50 kms far. We have to cross two hills while going to that place, so I left the hotel around 5.30 am.

We were travelling by scooter which belongs to my colleague. He is local person and fluent in speaking local language. I have no knowledge about the local language.

IMG-20210303-WA0106.jpg

My colleague said that if anyone asks any question during the journey not to speak, he will answer all quarries behalf of me as our clients preferred local languages.

It was beautiful journey as the scenic beauty was marvellous and we were going through woods and hilly road.

Weather was pleasant. We were going smoothly by the road and travelled around 30- 35 kms. My colleague suddenly told that Sir please seat tightly as there will be checking by the security personnel. Please show your identity card to them and answer their questions. After around 500 meters some security personals stopped our scooter and told us to get down.

We got down and they asked us from where we were coming and what our destination was. My colleague answered the question and said that my senior is coming from out of Manipur, for field working.

These security people were carrying arms and asked for identity cards. They were speaking in Hindi and English. I showed them the card and they opened the gate to let us go and advised to return early.

I asked my colleague who are they and he said security force from India.

IMG-20210227-WA0041.jpg

We started again and moved ahead. After traveling around 6-7 Kms my colleague said there will be another check post. I was preparing with my papers, but my colleague said not to speak a single word to them. I was wondering why he was saying so.

I found there was another check post and the security personals were different attire than the earlier one. They were carrying modern weapon and daggers. They stopped us and started checking our bags and speaking in local language. I did not understand what they were saying and my colleague was answering them.

They were pointing at me and some hot discussions were going on. My colleague made them calm by giving some medicine from his bag. They opened the gate and let us go.

I was afraid and asked my colleague why they were speaking in local language and their attire were different, also they were carrying different arms than the before ones.

My colleague stopped the scooter and said this post belonged to the extremist who are fighting for their rights. They only speak in local language and they were asking about me as I was an outsider from Manipur. That’s why he told me not to speak and he managed the situation. He said while returning back there won’t be any problem as they have already noted our identity.

IMG-20210227-WA0042.jpg

I was shaking and thanked almighty that the situation had been handled nicely and after work returned safely.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Every time I read your story, I find it exciting. Anyway, thanks for sharing and keep up the good content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67065.15
ETH 3680.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65