Steem Plants Contest Week 25 - Out Of Nowhere

Greetings plant lovers! Let's welcome Week 25 of this very colorful competition, Steem Plants Contest hosted by @strawberrry. Do you have interesting plants and flowers to show? Then this is the place to be. Read up about this challenge here and join in the fun.

There is an office I do business with. It's actually a company that sells memorial plans on a pre-need basis. Almost every week I drop by the office to book sales or remit collections from my clients. The office is located quite a distance from my house and from downtown area. So everytime I go here, I usually am in a hurry to complete my business so I can leave at once and avoid the traffic, which usually builds up towards mid afternoon to early evening. Thus I never was aware of the surroundings outside the office as I always enter it when I arrive.

One late morning I went over again to book some sales but found the office closed. The guard told me the secretary had to leave due to some important matters and had to close the office. But he said for me to wait as she was expected to be back very soon. So I waited outside and that was when I suddenly noticed this plant which apparently has been there all this time without me seeing it. Like out of nowhere it appeared there like magic.

IMG20221006104116.jpg

I went closer to check it out and to my delight, it had very beautiful but unusually shaped flowers. The first time I have seen one.

IMG20221006104107.jpg

IMG20221006104055.jpg

I looked it up in Google and found out that this plant is called a Cockscomb.

Named after its resemblance to the comb on a rooster, cockscomb boasts brightly-colored blooms with a unique comb-like shape. These flowers are part of the Amaranthaceae family under the Celosia genus. The Cristata Group has taken the common name of cockscomb and features alternating, lance-like leaves that can be found in green or bronze, while its blooms can be red, pink, yellow, or white. Source

What a marvelous find and a perfect place to share it with Steemit plant lovers: The Steem Plants Contest, of course.

IMG20221006104102.jpg

Isn't it lovely? And I think the lamp post make a perfect background for the plant. It gives the photo an old fashioned look too.

All for now. Thank you for visiting. Good luck to all the participants. Keep safe and healthy and may peace be with you all always.

(All photos are mine.)

Sort:  

Hi, @gems.and.cookies,

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.

Your post was picked for curation by @strawberrry.


Please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy,
or delegate to @ecosynthesizer to earn 100% of the curation rewards!
3000SP | 4000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP | 100000SP

 2 years ago 

Спасибо за участие

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56596.99
ETH 2394.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32