Contest Steem Plants Week #21 - Love At First Sight

Hello everyone. Welcome to the Steem Plants Contest Week #21 hosted by @strawberrry. If you still don't know about this yet you can read the contest post with the rules here. You are all invited to join in this wonderful contest.

The white rose has so many symbolisms. For instance, a dozen white roses mean deep love and affection. It can also mean "Be mine." But a single white rose symbolizes "Love at first."

IMG_20220910_213728.jpg

But there are some who associate the white rose with something else other than love. As in the case of a certain writer, Nina Arianda, she says, "I can't have white roses. They symbolize death."

Either way, I must say that in love and in death the white rose is a very beautiful thing to give. In this instance, the white rose in the photo above was part of a funeral flower wreath of white roses and lilies which was sent as a condolence to a neighbor of mine who died. My wife and I attended the wake and the interment of our neighbor. And as is custom in our country, at the time that the coffin is placed under the ground, but just before it is covered up, everyone throws a flower down at the coffin. The flowers are taken from the many different wreaths which were sent as condolences to the deceased. Both my wife and I were given a white rose each to be thrown down to the coffin.

IMG_20220910_213756.jpg

But I could not help but marvel at the beauty of this flower. And I even asked my wife if she can plant some of this kind of rose in her garden. But as luck will have it, another neighbor of mine has this exact kind of rose planted in their garden. There's only one plant and it grows right in front of his steel fence.

IMG20220909080047.jpg

Here's a close-up of the flower and as you can see, it is a healthy one with a lot of sprouting buds all over the plants stem.

IMG20220909080057.jpg

Our neighbor's househelp promised me that she will give me a cutting from the plant so I can grow one in our garden. I can't wait for that day. And when she does, I will surely share with you what will happen in another post. Stay tuned.

All for now. Wishing all the participants the best of luck. Keep safe everyone and may peace be with you all.

(All photos are mine.)

Sort:  

Hi, @gems.and.cookies,

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.

Your post was picked for curation by @strawberrry.


Please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy,
or delegate to @ecosynthesizer to earn 100% of the curation rewards!
3000SP | 4000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP | 100000SP

 2 years ago 

Thank you for participating!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59895.89
ETH 2419.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44