Club75 Contest Steem Plants Week 23 - A Bloom In A Cactus Bed?

Hello friends. Welcome to Week 23 of this lovely contest, the Steem Plants Contest, hosted by @strawberrry. Find out more about this competition, if you haven't heard of it before. Just click here and I look forward to your joining us soon.

I have a friend and neighbor here in our subdivision who I get to meet at least 2 to 3 days every month. That's because we are both members of our chapel choir and every 3rd Sunday of the month we have the Holy Mass celebrated in our chapel. As choir members, we meet and practice the songs that will be sung during mass. I play the organ while my friend owns the organ which we bring to the chapel during practices and on the actual Mass itself.

Now two weeks ago, after practicing, we set off for my neighbor's house to return the organ. When we got to the house, I noticed a flower bed full of cacti. It must have been there already for a while but somehow, after all these years, it was only then that I saw it. So I took pictures of them and here they are.

IMG_20220929_204136.jpg

IMG_20220929_202022.jpg

What really caught my attention was three of her cacti appear to be grafted. Two of them had an unusual top that was different from the trunk. Here's a closer shot.

IMG_20220929_204036.jpg

I looked them up and here's what I found:

Echinopsis chamaecereus is a species of cactus from Argentina. Synonyms include Chamaecereus silvestrii and Lobivia silvestrii. It has been called the "peanut cactus". Wikipedia

And another grafted one with a colorful top.

IMG_20220929_201944.jpg

Gymnocalycium mihanovichii "Moon Cactus" is a great cacti for beginners. It is actually two separate cacti grafted together. The top, colorful graft comes from Gymnocalycium, with the rootstock cacti coming from another cacti. Wikipedia

What colorful tops that I mistaken for flowers. Apparently they are not flowers but another specie of cacti. So actually, no bloom in the cactus bed.

And that's all. Good luck to all participants. Keep safe everyone and peace be with you all.

(All photos are mine.)

Sort:  

Hi, @gems.and.cookies,

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.

Your post was picked for curation by @strawberrry.


Please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy,
or delegate to @ecosynthesizer to earn 100% of the curation rewards!
3000SP | 4000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP | 100000SP

 2 years ago 

Прекрасные кактусы!

Thank you @strawberrry. I want to have them in my garden also 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89