Don't have your trust in money... even though it make make you feel good!

I have an application on my cell phone that is named Blockfolio. It shows me the total value of my portfolio, and it has grown quite a lot in the last few months. It feels really good to look at it, and it makes me feel good about myself, and a little bit proud. And yes, those are natural feelings, and there is nothing wrong with that.

The goal here isn't to preach, but there is a verse in the Bible that is important to remember when it comes to the way we deal with money. Check it out:

And he (Jesus) told them this parable: “The ground of a certain rich man yielded an abundant harvest. He thought to himself, ‘What shall I do? I have no place to store my crops.’ “Then he said, ‘This is what I’ll do. I will tear down my barns and build bigger ones, and there I will store my surplus grain. 19 And I’ll say to myself, “You have plenty of grain laid up for many years. Take life easy; eat, drink and be merry.”’ “But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life will be demanded from you. Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself?’ “This is how it will be with whoever stores up things for themselves but is not rich toward God.”

What is the point of the story? Life can change in so many ways, and what we own can disappear within a day. That is why we always need to keep our real values in other things, and not in the money.

money secueirty.jpg

We should absolutely celebrate our victories, we should have fun, and we should take joy in seeing growth in our portfolio and in the success of our work. But, in the end - our final joy and safety shouldn't be in the money (or crypto), because things can change so quickly, and just like in the parable, our lives might end all of a sudden or the barn in which we have stored our values might burn to the ground. And then... what will happen with us then?

What is the point of this article?

I don't want to give you a final answer and tell you what to think. You can do that yourself. But, read through the article and let it speak to you. What does this mean to you? I believe that the same message speaks to us all in different ways, and thus, it might mean something completely different to you than it does to me!

So, have you thought about this? I would love to hear from you!

Sort:  

I really love the verses of the scripture you quoted here about the parable of the "rich fool". This goes to prove that we should not put our trust in money. Just like a friend used to say "if you trust money, it will fail you". I think we should focus more on the values to create with money instead of trying to acquire money by all means.
Nice piece as usual buddy

Well said. We need to keep our value in some things and not only in money. Who knows the money can lose its value tomorrow

So true... the world can change in a day... Just think of those who boasted in their incomes from tourism in 2019... 2020 turned their lives around, and suddenly, their pride, their money, and the safety was gone...

Money can always fail at anytime and it is always best to impact the lives of as many people as we can, that is a true measure of success.

Really impressed with your sharing i keep reminding myself daily with the above Scripture so as not to get carried away by what im having earthly wealth are nothing to boast of even though they make us feel better.

Yeah, we need to remind ourselves about, because if not, it is easy to take our pride and have our safety in money (crypto), and not in what is really important!

Hello friend, certainly money is not everything, it is necessary but in spite of not having it in quantity you can be very happy with the rest of the things, with our people and with what we have done in life. Money covers our needs, but sometimes it does not cover the most important thing which is our mental and emotional stability. Greetings!

Money achieves a passing emotional state, it is a stimulus that impacts our psyche but does not fill our affective realities. Friend @unbiasedwriter life is fleeting just as money is, the key is to live accumulating feelings and affective contacts. Thanks

Fun jokes and celebrations are really important in our life to spend each and every day with some fun rather much more thinking about the money. those who got much money to the home he buried his happiness with it, that is what I have learnt in my student life. Thanks for the article

Indeed interesting article, money is highly important to help us sort out life problems but we must also give room for other important things that are more important and it is even necessary to use that money to help others as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01