Book: How to win friends and influence people by Dale Carnegie - "You Can't Win and Argument"

in Project HOPE4 years ago

Hello and Namaste Everyone

I am good and hope you are also doing good and staying safe.

Last week I shared my post from the book "How to win friends and influence people" by Dale Carnegie and the topic was "How to Interest People"

image.png

src

The last topic was very good and I am also not going through in series instead I am picking the best ones first. Although all these topics are great few are even better than I am covering first.

The Topic that I have gone through this time is "You Can't Win an Argument"

image.png

src

Sometimes while going through discussion we don't realize that the conversation has gone to another level and it has become an argument. This is quite practical and I hope many you would have gone through this type of situation. Intentionally or unintentionally it just happens and we don't release it. As far as I understand there is no way to win and argument because most of the time it's not based on facts. A healthy discussion is the best because it comes to a conclusion where we agree and then closes the conversation.

If you argue and rankle and contradict, you may achieve a victory sometimes; but it will be an empty victory because you will never get your opponent’s goodwill.

Author Dale has explained about it in easy words and concluded that even if you win it by the various way then also this is not worth because another person has not agreed. A healthy conversation is a good example where two or more people agree for the same thoughts whereas in argument this is just the opposite.

image.png

src

Distrust your first instinctive impression. Our first natural reaction in a disagreeable situation is to be defensive. Be careful. Keep calm and watch out for your first reaction. It may be you at your worst, not your best.

In my opinion, the start of the argument happens with disagreement and if we realize it in the beginning then we still have a chance to control the situation by trying our best to ensure that the other person is not offended. It's better if we can lower ourselves bit down and let others feel that whatever he is saying is more correct and meaningful. This could not be completely true but at least this way we get better chances to avoid argument as other people will feel that we agree on his or her thoughts.


To be practical I think there is no win if we keep on arguing for long and end up getting nothing as the outcome of the conversation. Sometimes loosing is better than winning could be the best way to avoid unnecessary talks. I many time follow in my life when I fell like another person is not ready to listen to the facts and no point wasting time and energy on this


This is the third chapter that I have gone through this book and this one is pretty good. The good thing is that most of the topics are related to our life and we can easily relate to ourselves. If we follow such things in our life then for sure we can minimize many issues easily. Dale Carnegie was such an amazing author that he had written all these tips over 70 years back.

image.png
src

Thanks to @crypto.piotr for this nice initiative and @juanmolina for sharing about the book. I am sure it will help many people in the PH family to get lots of knowledge and learning.

Thank you so much.
Stay Safe

image.png

Sort:  

a great book and this chapter is very interesting, I must say that it is best to criticize constructively, and have a positive mindset. This guides us to be more focused and clear.

This book is wonderful some of the chapters are so great. Its worth reading and lots to learn.

I seriously hate to argue... If a person does not agree with my opinion, I simply smile and let it slide, trying to win an argument will only result in a serious quarrell and misunderstanding.

This is the best way to save our time and enegery and I too follow the same. Thanks for stopping by.

Hello friend, I also made a publication about it and I agree with the author, the best discussion is the one that is avoided. Sometimes our emotions win out and we fall for it, but the best thing is to ignore it and not give our body and mind any reason to feel bad. Arguing will not bring us anything good, but quite the opposite. Greetings!

Hi @franyeligonzalez
very well said that its good to avoid such a conversation because there is no good outcome. Even if we win then also its not the real victory. Arguing is certainly not helping us in any ways. Thanks much for stopping by my friend.

You have written quite a good review.
I am also thinking to write some more chapters so that we could get an overall understanding of the book :)

Thank you so much my friend.

Haha wow you replied too quickly :p
Thought you got lost in the beautiful book :p
Wish you great luck :)

Hi @haidermehdi
extremely sorry for the late reply. I had missed it. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your nice feedback. Appreciate it. Have a great day my friend.

Ahh no need to be sorry at all :)
Have a wonderful week :)

 4 years ago 

Thanks for another interesting read @reeta0119 :)

I'm very glad to hear that you've been enjoying this particular book (recommended by Juan). I myself am trying to read one chapter after another in weekly manner (I'm just such a slow book reader :P)

Have a great day ahead,
Yours, Piotr

Hi @crypto.piotr
Sorry for late reply as I missed it before.

Yes, its a wonderful read and I am glad that I have been given this opportunity to enjoy this world of knowledge. Slow reading has its own fun too.

thank you so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42