You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Cross Posting is a Form Of Plagiarism

in Project HOPE4 years ago (edited)

Dear @metzli

We in project.hope disagree with an idea, that cross-posting is in any way form of plagiarism. Especially between steem and hive blockchain.

The fact is, that HIVE (during HF23) copied all content without asking any user for their permission. By doing that, they created precedent.

Many new members who are becoming part of our PH community has been asking questions about our community approach towards STEEM and HIVE and cross-posting between those two.

I personally do not see a problem with cross-posting to both chains. Apart of the facts mentioned above, it's important to point out that from legal point of view it has nothing to do with plagiarism - as long as we are legaly an owner of published content.

Cheers,
@project.hope

Sort:  

You are correct. Legality is not an issue ethics is.

You own your words and writings of course and it is your choice what you do with it - but cross posting hurts both chains and that should be taken into consideration when cross posting.

Thank you for your opinion. Disagreement and discussions are good and I appreciate you taking time to read my work.

I forgot to mention the precedent of HIVES copying all our work. I was not in agreement with that, but responding by cross posting all my work is not a solution, it is a magnifying of the problem.

 4 years ago 

Again, thank you for your opinion @metzli

I was not in agreement with that, but responding by cross posting all my work is not a solution

Example has been given to the world. It's simple as that. Cross-posting for many people is solution.

Also you've mentioned that HF23 didn't impact price of steem. I'm not sure if you're actually for real. I cannot somehow take it seriously. Basic understanding of economy should be enough to understand, that it had a crashing effect.

Increase of price had more to do with the fact, that Justin Sun is pumping his own resources to maintain price of STEEM and counter-balance dumping of STEEM by those who created and promoted hive chain. Your reasoning is really not valid.

Right now, I even more disagree with your view on this topic and I'm closer to majority of users, who shared their opinion.

Yours, Piotr

I think there is no problem with the duplicate content, you own your words and your thoughts and are free to use them as you like.

I think it is an exaggeration to say that it hurts steemit and hive, I think it is an incorrect analysis, on the contrary I think that both chains benefit

This may be considered unethical to some extent but, as there is no law regarding it, one cannot say that the act of cross posting is equivalent to plagiarism.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44