The Psychological Effect of Living our Lives to Please Others.

in Project HOPE4 years ago

Prior to this time, I use to get really worried about other people’s opinion about me, I am usually really concerned about what people have to say about me and the way I wanted to please so many people at the same time, as a result of this I experienced slow growth in my life and people still had their opinion about me anyways.

images (70).jpeg

Image Credit

It started with trying to please my parents, I even went to study a course I was not really good at in school just because my Dad wanted me to be in a science class and I wanted to make him happy at all cost but I realized that there is no way I can completely satisfy anyone, despite the fact that I was all I could to do right by him he always had something to complain about with me so from that moment of realization, I decided never to live my life for the approval of others anymore and I have seen how much progress my life has been able to make since that time.

images (69).jpeg

Image Credit

My Dad and I do not talk much up till now because I decided to follow the entrepreneurial path instead of looking for a job (he thinks it is a waste of time), I still find joy in what I do either with his approval or not. You do not have to live on the principles of others, live a good life and no matter how much you think people will like you for trying to please them, it will not happen.

Another way we indirectly live our lives to please other people is by regularly trying to think about what is going on in people’s mind about us, whenever people are discussing while we pass by we think they may be gossiping about us and that way we automatically begin to feel unacceptable and sad then we try to adjust our lives in a way that they will like which is highly destructive.

Points to remember.

I think we really do this because we do not even know our self-worth in the first place, if you understand how great you can be, you wouldn’t really mind what people are trying to say about you as long as you are doing the right thing.

No matter how difficult life gets, your happiness should never be placed on the palms of others, because people are highly manipulative and destructive also, they can make you feel loved when all they feel about you is hatred, so the instance they realize how much your happiness depends on them, they will use it against you and make your life a complete mess.

Thanks a lot for reading, I am @oluwatobiloba.

Sort:  

Hi @oluwatobiloba
To live our life, we simply have to live it...
The others will always disagree with many things, even if you only do good, there will be those who will be annoyed by it, so the best thing is just as you say, keep doing what you like, without thinking about what they will say. The best option.

Very best option, thanks for coming around friend.

The truth is, we can't please everyone and people should not set the standards for our lives. We should try to do what is good and will bring us happiness without allowing people to manipulate us otherwise.

Nice piece Tobi

It is highly necessary, thanks for coming around friend.

When we live our life to satisfy others, what we get in return is misery and pain.

Living in service aligned by a higher, spiritual principle brings purpose. Serving others that abide by a lower principle is so very flawed.

be original and have identity, is what w it is achieved when we live life being authentic doing what we like, even if they don't like it I congratulate you, you are great, you provide exciting and very attractive conversations!it is a pleasure to read your contents 😍

#steemitconnection

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48