You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ironies That Surrounds The Nigerian Dream.... (From An Economic Perspective)

in Project HOPE4 years ago

Truth is a lot of people over here are controlled by what others have to say especially parents and relatives.
Let me share a quick personal story: I had finished secondary school and admission was not forth coming so instead of sitting around, I ventured into business my Dad's friend advised him that it was compulsory to get a tertiary education and my Dad gave up his housing project and sold some things to send me to a private school.

The years I spent in school was not easy either as my parents did not have sufficient resources to foot all the bills so I decided to mix petty trading with education in order to take care of myself in school.

I realized it was extremely difficult to get a job in Nigeria so I decided to start my own business but you will not believe that my family members prefer that I sit at home until a job comes.

Sort:  

Being an entrepreneur will always be seen as something very risky, and I think in fact it is, but, if we don't risk we won't lose, but neither will we know if we will win something. Many think that waiting for a good job is the right way, or getting a profession, however, that is not always the reality.

Yeah but sometimes we spend at a cost and the risks makes us lose everything you know. That's why sometimes the right decision can also be very difficult to make

Wow, what a story, truth is, sometimes people have only money for one project and not everyone can afford to go to school and still be a business person it's always difficult however when we apply our wisdom it works perfectly well. Thanks for sharing your story

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66546.31
ETH 3589.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93