Expectations As We Approach The New Year

image.png

After a nightmarish 2020, we are about to leave behind 2021. We are on the sixth day of December and the expected bull rally in the crypto market is not yet in sight. On the contrary, there has been a serious decline in the market over the past three days. According to some Youtubers, the crypto market would take wings in November and we would go to the moon in December.

December is a special time for financial markets. News channels always announce that traders who have closed their positions are going on an early Christmas vacation. Every year from mid-November onwards, it is discussed whether a Christmas rally will take place that year. And interestingly, December usually goes well. From mid-December, the trading volumes drop even more because everyone is on vacation.

In the crypto world, the December of 2013 and 2017 are remembered with warm feelings. Recently I read a comment that attributed the recent weak trend to people selling cryptocurrencies to buy Christmas gifts. As I understand it, people in western countries buy each other quite expensive gifts at Christmas. In my opinion, cryptocurrencies should not be sold under any circumstances. If I hadn't disposed of the Steems that I earned with a lot of effort in 2018 and 2019, my portfolio would be twice as much as it is today.

Preparations for New Year's celebrations in Turkey also begin at this time. In relatively wealthy districts, the streets are decorated and illuminated with New Year lights. People are starting to think about how they're going to spend New Year's Eve. There is special happiness that the celebration of New Year's Eve brings. Those who are unhappy with their lives, on the contrary, spend New Year's Eve accompanied by a deep depression.

One of the New Year classics in Turkey is that political Islamists accuse those who have adopted the western lifestyle of imitating Christians. Those who lead their lives with a secular understanding state that they celebrate the new year, not Christmas, but political Islamists are insisting on this baseless claim for 50 years.

Despite the political Islamists, in recent years, people have started to keep decorated and illuminated pine trees in their homes. At first, it seemed strange to me, but over time I got used to it. Every year on these days we take out our plastic pine tree and open its branches. It's fun for the kids to wear their decorations and lights. Our 7-month-old cat will see a lighted pine tree for the first time, I do not doubt that he will find it interesting.

We will celebrate New Year's differently this year, as our friends with whom we spent the New Year have moved to another city. Since hotels and entertainment venues are very busy, I prefer to spend New Year's Eve at home. Because of the crowd, it is not possible to get proper service.

I quit smoking on the last year's eve and haven't smoked until today. I can now say that I have erased smoking from my mind. My goal for the new year is to lose 8-10 kilos. I also intend to write a sci-fi story every month. Let's see if I can make it.

At the end of every year, people inevitably review their life in general. Maybe she/he compares her/himself to richer, more successful, attractive people and becomes unhappy. Or hopefully, knowing that there is no end to the things desired, she/he will know how to be happy with what she/he has. In recent years I have been more inclined to be happy with what I have, so I spend most of my Christmas evenings happily.

Although I am happy with the way I am, it would certainly be great if, in December, all the coins in my portfolio would go to the moon. I also want my son, who will take the university placement exam in 2022, to get into a good university.

These are my wishes and plans for the New Year. Productivity, good luck, and the moon...

Thank you for reading.

Image Source: https://unsplash.com/photos/PAykYb-8Er8

Sort:  

hello @muratkbesiroglu,
one interesting thing that happens in December for most investors is that the market can turn into a downtrend, on the other hand, I think there is a trend reversal coming in the market and for all those who did not capitalise on their gains, they will be broke again, I hope you have a great Christmas with your family and friends.

Hello @trabajosdelsiglo,
The market seems weak nowadays. I hope the bullish trend will reversal till the end of the year.

I hope you have a great Christmas too.

 2 years ago 

Dear @muratkbesiroglu

2020 has been indeed nightmarish. However, 2021 seemed to be as bad (or even worse) in so many ways. Hopefully Christmas time this year won't be ruined with all those insane lockdowns.

Recently I read a comment that attributed the recent weak trend to people selling cryptocurrencies to buy Christmas gifts.

That truly doesn't make much sense. Christmas gifts are not as expensive (people do not buy expensive sport-cars and luxurious goods as christmas gifts) to make such a difference. Not in my opinion.

I would consider such a publication to be written by someone who ... just made it up. Without really doing any solid research.


Anyway, Thanks for sharing your dreams with all of us :)

Upcoming Christmas will surely be very strange and unpredictable. Especially since this new strain of Covid virus seem to be an excuse for most goverments to introduce strict lockdowns and enforce people to stay home. It's sad and miserable solution, which proved not to work till now. And it seem to be repeated again.

ps.
I'm myself currently happily in Malaysia, where it's warm and cosy. I love experiencing snow for a day or two, but feeling cold longer than that is a BIG NO GO for me :)

did you ever experience snow in your lifetime?

Stay safe my friend,
Cheers, Piotr

Hello Piotr,
We experience four seasons in İstanbul-Turkey. So I have experienced snow many times including new years eve. Covid shutdowns don't seem applicable in Turkey as the economy is in a critical situation. Most people have been vaccinated, so Covid is under control right now.

Best Regards,

Hello @muratkbesiroglu, end of the year celebration is always something that we all look forward to, it is often the phase to a new beginning and a lot of people use the time to review their growth/achievement over the past year, of course, set goals for the coming year as well.

The end of the year celebration should be spent with loved ones but should be done in a manner that will not tear our pockets.

Hello @gbenga,
I agree with you about spending the end of the year with the loved ones; not tearing the pocket is also critical :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60