You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Terminal Treasures. Episode 1.

in Project HOPE4 years ago

Love this article.

Frankly speaking, as an engineer and system architect I am disgusted by the recent trend which sees software developers blindly embracing frameworks such as Electron and React Native, which are trading easier cross-platform portability for JUST LIKE EVERYTHING ELSE (size, performance, energy consumption, memory commit). I appreciate a good GUI but I am sick and tired of seeing how the simplest application is now hogging hundreds of MB of RAM and disk space just because is yet another instance of Chromium in disguise. God bless terminal apps.

Looking forward to reading the rest of the series!

Sort:  

You're absolutely right. I mean connecting to a server and playing some audio shouldn't use 300MB RAM. That's insane. Today I also tried a terminal emulator developed with electron 😂😂😂. What a joke that was. It was lagging like it was computing the meaning of life in the background. Meanwhile I use Konsole on my system and have blur and transparency in just 10MB.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.31