Do you have something better to do? by karupanocitizen

It is Sunday, the day is rainy and the weather invites you to lie down and enjoy a good movie or a good series. Tomorrow is a workday and the most convenient thing is to take advantage of the few hours of rest that remain of the weekend, totally tomorrow is another day… tomorrow I can continue working.


Does the above seem familiar to you? Have you ever thought about it? Do you feel a bit frustrated when looking back and seeing that you are not meeting your goals? Do not worry, you are not alone, I have felt the same many times, in fact, right now I am escaping from the "temptation" to plunge into procrastination, what don't you know what it is? Well, let's talk about that and other issues to overcome. the habit of leaving everything for later.

Separador izquierdo PH.png

Procast what?

Procrastination, according to Wikipedia (please don't criticize my source xD) is:

"... the action or habit of delaying activities or situations that must be addressed, replacing them with other more irrelevant or pleasant situations due to fear or laziness to face them."

Instead of focusing on the meaning of the word I want us to review the causes and consequences of this "habit", I promise you that I will try not to be too boring.
When we procrastinate it is not necessarily because we are lazy or lazy, it is most likely that we are doing it precisely because we want to be increasingly efficient workers, which prompts us to try to do an ever-increasing number of activities in the shortest possible time. However, our subconscious knows that this will take time and dedication, so something within us begins to tell us: "you will not be able to do everything."
Contradictorily, when we feel that time is overwhelming us and we will not be able to fulfill what we set out to do, we generally begin to focus on things that allow us to evade the planned task or the decision we must make as if we wanted to flee from it so that it would disappear. That's when we are procrastinating.

Seperardor derecho PH.png

Why do I feel this way?

In my opinion, the most damaging consequence of procrastination is not evasion or postponing what we know we should do, but rather that feeling of guilt, frustration, stress, and even anger that we come to feel when we are trapped in that vicious circle. from: I plan a lot of tasks - I feel like I can't do them all - I don't do any - I feel lazy.

We live in a social environment where it is considered that doing more implies being better, the people we often admire are those who can manage their time in such a way that they successfully fulfill many roles and they all do them well, those are usually Our life models and we often compare ourselves with them, parents, bosses, partners, teachers, mentors ... the list of people that we think will be watching over our results is very long and none of us want to fail them, we cannot allow ourselves to look bad, but.

There is no one in the world more critical of what we do or stop doing than ourselves, no one, but absolutely no one will judge us as harshly as our conscience usually does, hence you should not be so concerned about what people think. In addition to how you manage your time, start listening to your own and sincere criticisms, allow yourself to evaluate yourself and you will see how inside you will find the answer to solve what happens to you.

Separador izquierdo PH.png

Do what you like

Yes, that is the answer. Don't you want to procrastinate? Do what you like, what you like, what fulfills you. This does not mean that you go through life with your eyes glued to your mobile watching YouTube videos, Instagram reals, or Tik Tok, you and I know that that is not what you like, that is simply a way to "burn Our time and procrastinate. Whatever you have to do (what needs to be done) do it from the perspective of what you like to do.
For example, if you need to clean your house, a task that you do not like, but you like music and dancing a lot, then turn up the volume on your favorite song and between a little step here and another there without realizing it, you will be leaving your house clean.

Do you have several days without writing on your steemit blog and every time you sit down to write you don't know what topic to develop? Once again: do what you like. Write about something that you are passionate about without even thinking about whether or not your readers will like the topic, if you enjoy what you write and do it with passion (which is sure to happen) your content will shine on its own and you will surely get better results from those that you could have proposed.

What if I relapse?

Do you fall back into the arms of procrastination? No problem, it happens to all of us. Just stop demanding so much of yourself, make your priorities simple, try to solve one thing at a time, improve your time management with some of these tools, and for what you love the most: Do not feel guilty! Guilt will not help you in absolutely anything, on the contrary, will anchor you in the vicious circle once, more as if it were a labyrinth with no way out!

Life is not a moment, although in a moment life can go away. When you feel bad, think that this moment is not going to be eternal, that it is going to pass, and that you only have the tools to go through it in the best way. If you fall, stand up! Although it sounds cliché, it is like that, nothing can give you more motivation than knowing that to get out of a problem what is needed is only to take that first step, believe me, once you start to walk your way you will see how opportunities will open up for you and solutions to what you thought was impossible to solve.

Seperardor derecho PH.png

Well, it's time to leave them for a while. It is Sunday, the night is rainy, my wife is waiting for me to see a very good series on television, and thanks to this publication I was able to overcome my procrastination regarding my Steemit blog, doing what I like.

Now I would like to know your opinion, have you gone through periods of procrastination? How have you felt about it? What have you done to overcome them? Do you consider that this article has been of benefit to you? the comment box.

We keep reading!

Banner no plagio.png

Baner Principal PH.png

Sort:  

Everything will definitely come and go. We should understand that procrastination, no matter what meaning will give it, is not a friend. Time planning to do the necessities at the specified time is very important.
Yet, we mustn't pressure ourself too much. Life is good, yet short.

The same is @benie111, the important thing is not to focus on the problem but on the solution, we gain nothing by making ourselves feel guilty or putting more pressure on ourselves than necessary, a little planning and starting one step at a time will help us a lot to get out. the pothole

Thank you very much for commenting, greetings.

Life is not a moment, although in a moment life can go away.

Nice post, Procrastination of cos have gone through it before and everytime it happens I feel like am lazy, and it makes me feel guilty but I do overcome it by listening to my music playlist, it's sound funny but it helps me alot.

Thanks for sharing.

Thank you @sholly1 for sharing your experience and stopping by expressing your opinion. For me music has a great effect on our emotions, they are able to get us out of bed when we need it most.

@karupanocitizen, on Sunday I choose to disengage from some habits, and that the house goes on pause, sometimes these things are necessary to recover energy, I do not like to delay activities, but the weekend is sacred. Thank you for this publication.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 19 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 55 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Anyone is prone to fall before the siren songs of procrastination. Me? I'm no exception to that rule, but as soon I realize I'm wasting my fime doing things that can wait while I'm leaving the important ones unnatended, I take a break and reorganize everything so I can get back to my tracks.

That's the reason why I always make a plan before I even try to do anything, and in such plan I organize the tasks i need to do in order to accomplish my final goal. By doing so I've been able to end most of my duties and obligations in time and as efficiently as I can.

Regards.

You are absolutely right @bostonblake, one of the best tools to overcome procrastination is to have a plan, especially if it is used to develop some kind of tool that we like, that encourages us to achieve the goal as if it were a game.

Thank you very much for giving you a tour of my blog, best regards

Greetings @ karupanocitizen. I share with you these words "In my opinion, the most harmful consequence of procrastination is not the avoidance or postponement of what we know we should do, but that feeling of guilt, frustration, stress and even anger that we come to feel when we are trapped in that vicious circle." On many occasions I have stopped doing some things..... knowing the need of having to do them, after having put them off several times, I do them and feel very bad for not having done them before. That sense of guilt takes several days to clear from my mind.
Thank you very much for sharing your publication

Greetings my dear @karupanocitizen very interesting this phrase "our subconscious knows that this will take time and dedication, so something inside us begins to tell us: "you can not do everything" sometimes our system falls in uj time of apathy and it is better a healthy distraction to push us in the scope of our true focus. Thank you for your contribution

Thanks to you @madridbg for taking the time to read my post, affectively apathy is an evil that we must fight against in order to be more productive and happy, it is time to get up and move forward. Best regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61143.97
ETH 3363.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51