Work to Live or Live to Work?

in Project HOPE4 years ago (edited)

Hello my dear friends, I hope you are well and that you have had an excellent start to the week. Today I come with a topic that I think is of concern to many of us, especially those of us who are now part of those people who left their country in search of a better quality of life and to be able to fulfill their dreams and goals and we are still working on it.

So, I ask you: DO WE WORK TO LIVE OR DO WE LIVE TO WORK?


image.png

Source

I believe that for many the answer is the second option, most of us spend our lives wanting to work more and more so that supposedly our quality of life improves, but in many occasions the opposite happens, our mental and physical health ends up deteriorating and not even having all the money in the world we will be able to recover that wear and tear and time invested.

Most of us were educated with the purpose of working all our lives until we could get a good retirement, we were not given the option to think beyond, but today there are many strategies that we can implement to generate more income without so much physical wear.

In many countries people work almost all day, currently I live in Colombia Bogota and work 13 hours a day, the truth is that I think this is not life. I have a better quality of life than in my country certainly, but I feel that life is going away only at work, I have no social life and when I have days off I am too tired to enjoy it, so I think it is time to change things.


image.png

Source

We all know that money is important, most work to that end, but there must be a balance because our health is also important, without it we can not do anything, so we must do everything possible to take care of it.

Excessive work can bring us many consequences, such as constant fatigue, low productivity in the future, permanent stress, irritability, social isolation, can generate sleep disorders, anxieties and above all not take advantage of the really important moments to have a good quality of life.


image.png

Source

image.png

In my opinion, we should think more about ourselves as human beings, share with our loved ones and live the life we have, because all that remains of work is tiredness.

Let's not wait for our energies to run out in order to think beyond, let's become aware and implement strategies that allow us to work less and live more. Savings and investments are a good start.

Thanks for reading me! :)

image.png

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @kathe-art

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publicación ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

Thank you very much!

I understand your point, as much as we desire to get money we must dedicate some days to rest and enjoy other social activities, things are not really balanced over here though, some people work so hard everyday and even take up extra hours just to make ends meet but still do not earn enough to get them three square meals.

Those of us who have the privilege of getting some options of rest should really be thankful.

Hello friend you are very right, thank you

Great work out @franyeligonzalez. I totally share your point of view. Working 13 hours a day is tiring. When I was your age I was ambitious and I worked 18 hours, but that only benefited my boss, not me. I cut myself off from this job. It is interesting that when we are between 16 and 30 yo we work while enjoying our job, at the age from 30 to 45 we work because we enjoy the relationship with our boss, after 45 years we work to collect savings that will allow us to retire. In Poland, we say that we lose health at work to have money. Once we have money, we spend it on treatment to improve health.

Hello friend, thanks for your comment, I agree, we do not take advantage of life, we waste many moments just for work.

 4 years ago 

Hi @franyeligonzalez
Very Shakespearean. to be or not to be.

A way of saying big incognito, and a good dilemma, I think that sometimes we live to work but other times we only work to live.

and I think I am sure that in the second one I had.

Hello friend, it's certainly a sad reality. Thanks for stopping by!

Life goes first by studying, then by working, and when it is going to start living, we are already a little old for it...
I think we have to make adjustments, because we cannot continue in the same way. Time passes without us realizing it, it doesn't stop, much less return.

Likewise is friend @josevas217 is the reality of most people, when they really want to live they have little time left.

Asking me your question:

Working for a living?

Certainly the most ideal would be to get a job to which we can give the best of us, the power to express our talent, and at the same time this work allows us to live, and that means having quality of life.

Live to work?

This would be a scenario that in particular I do not like for me, that I feel live a lifetime working without having a break or a relief, certainly each reality in people are different, and I know that many who leave for example from Venezuela are touched hard, and have to live to work, I hope that this second option of living to work only a small stage in the life of many, and rather work provides the happiness they deserve. Greetings and blessings to you my dear friend @franyeligonzalez

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76