You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Russia's economy ready for sanctions?

in Project HOPE2 years ago

hi @karamyog

I myself am not really convinced if introducing SWIFT sanctions is a way to go.

Sanctions didn't "break" goverment of Iran, Venezuela or neither North Korea. It only made things worse for regular people. And implementing sanctions which target common people should be as illegal as shooting to them and killing them.
After all, Putin will still carry on with his war. But thousands of common Russians will die because of economic consequences.

Biggest irony is, that as far as I'm aware - european countries are still buying oil and gas from Russia. While revenue from that trade is directly the one used by Russian governing party.


Perhaps you may find my own post worth visiting:
SWIFT SANCTIONS - is it a NUCLEAR WEAPON in financial markets?

Cheers, Piotr

Sort:  

I did see your post and I think I responded as well.

I agree the ones who bear the brunt of sanctions are not governments but small importers, exporters, common citizens and I agree that if Putin is doing military warfare and killing civilians instantly, then the west is doing financial warfare and that is akin to killing civilians slowly and painfully.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64