You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to win friends and influence people of Dale Carnegie. The great secret for dealing with people.

in Project HOPE4 years ago

Dear @lanzjoseg

I hope you enjoyed this book as I'm enjoying reading it (it's taking me some time since I'm very slow book reader :P)

my personal philosophy is: "Treat people as you would like them to treat you" because to that extent I think that if you give a good deal is what you will receive in return.

I actually disagree with this philosophy. The thing is that I'm very strict towards myself. I tend to punish myself whenever I do not achieve goals, when I'm unhappy with my own performance. Or when I do not keep word given to someone. My expectations towards myself are very high and ...

well, I've learned that treating others the way I would like them to treat me isn't usually working well. Usually we need to figure out, how people want to be treated and then try to give it to them.

After all - it's important to understand other people needs and ways of thinking. And what would satisfy us, may not satisfy them. Hope I'm making sense?

Just an example: my wife cares about being loved, she doesn't like to be alone, she doesn't mind spending time doing nothing (wasting time) as long as we're doing it together.
I on the other hand value piece of mind above all and I'm always stressed when I have impression that I'm wasting time.

Would I treat her the way I would like to be treated - then our marriage would collapse very fast :P

Again, solid read. Upvoted already. Have a great day ahead buddy,
Yours, Piotr

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Hi @crypto.piotr

I understand your point, in fact my approach is also based on the differences that we all have and how we can face things.

However, I am also aware that treating people in the same way as I like to be treated will not always work out and I do not expect to receive the same treatment.
however continue to treat people well in a polite way and with great respect.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65989.03
ETH 2622.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65