You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Cross Posting is a Form Of Plagiarism

in Project HOPE4 years ago

hi @metzli

Unfortunatelly, I also disagree.

If we own content, then we shall be able to post it on our blog, our linkedin, steem, hive, facebook, twitter or any other platform out there. Based on your idea, this shall not be allowed. Which I fully disagree.

Can you imagine situation, where someone would downvote you for posting something first on your twitter and then on steem/hive and accusing you of plagiarism? That would be ridiculous.

Personally, I recommend to post on both chains. Different traffic and some extra $$$ in rewards - which allows us to cover loss caused by HF23 (which obviously impacted price of STEEM in negative way).

ps.
Consider joining our discord sever: https://discord.gg/uWMJTaW

Yours, Piotr

Sort:  

Downvotes were not mentioned. I see downvotes as more of a police action by others and my post was more about self reflection.

Cross posting like you mentioned in different mediums is done often. I prefer it when it is more network building. A post in Facebook with a picture of your graphic and a
blurb pointed to your blog grows your network, as does publishing a quote on twitter.

I am exploring the new norms in self publishing and happen to feel that cross posting is a form of reward milking. Some are ok with that - here I post why I am not.

As to the steem price being hurt by the fork, I disagree. Before the sale/merger/fork steem was sitting at 0.12 USD now it sits at 0.20.

The block chains are different and will not grow to their full potential until they get enough bloggers sharing unique content. Cross posting keeps them like identical twin sisters with mirrored personalities when in reality they are more like a clone who decides to change their look by dyeing their hair, getting tattoos and changing their clothing style (my analogy needs work, lol, but I still think I’m making my point).

 4 years ago 

Dear @metzli

Thank you for your prompt and polite reply.

I hope you don't mind, that I will share your publication with all core members of our PH community. I actually want them to know what is our official stand on this issue, as well as I like to read their own feedback.

Again, I appreciate your mature reply,
Yours, Piotr

THank you for sharing. I enjoyed seeing all the extra comments on my post, even if they are in disagreement.

 4 years ago 

Dear @metzli

Glad to see how responsive and polite you are :)

Can you imagine situation, where someone would downvote you for posting something first on your twitter and then on steem/hive and accusing you of plagiarism? That would be ridiculous.
Downvoting is terrible for me. The worst thing if I got stamped as spammer... I think there will be a way to appreciate contents and copy right to different platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58