You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE TIME TO VOTE FOR A WITNESS IS NOW!!!

in Project HOPE4 years ago (edited)

Dear @solarwarrior

That's kind of true that voting on witnesses may be very important at this time. However I'm just not sure which witnesses are worth supporting. I know that some are very hostile and majority are to me quite unknown.

Would you perhaps have any recommendation?

Also I've been wondering - if indeed one day SWAP would be happening and most users will power down, then all those votes on witnesses will reduce in strength. Correct?

So in a worst case scenario Justin could power up his 28% of steem and overpower any existing witness votes and install his own bunch of 20 witnesses and take over...

Is that the way steem works? Wow. I wasn't aware. Thx for sharing that valuable info.

Also one important question: even if Justin would manage to change all 20 witnesses, then we can still vote in the future and change few of those new group of 20, correct?

Upvoted and resteemed.
Yours, Piotr

Sort:  

Dear @crypto.piotr... no recommendation as of now... I hope that some of the witnesses will comment here and explain briefly in a few sentences what their strategy is..

That's how I understand proof of stake with witnesses.. if I am mistaken someone should correct me...

Yes.. in the future we could change back, but if he controls the 20 witnesses he can do whatever he wants to the chain.. hence eliminating the witness process and taking over control for ever.. that is just how I understand it.. again folks.. correct me if I am wrong...

 4 years ago 

I just realized that I never actually thanked you for your comment. Big thx.
Cheers, Piotr

Justin clearly stated @crypto.piotr, that he would not use his stake to:

  1. Vote for Witnesses
  2. Upvote content

While he obviously has a lot to learn, he seems to understand the importance of getting this straight, right "out of the gate" ...

That said, is he a man of integrity? A man of his word? We'll all find out soon enough ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66269.64
ETH 3568.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.06