Never give up at the face of a challenge- Lesson from my mentor.

in Project HOPE2 years ago

One thing I am not particularly strong with, is the persistence to keep pushing while things are not going well, the moment things stop going my way, I get really tensed and unsettled.
I have a mentor who has her own little business, I try to take lessons from her as much as I can. She is not so big now, but with the effort she puts into all she does, there is no doubt she will become really successful soon.


pexels-anna-tarazevich-6173659.jpg
Photo by Anna Tarazevich from Pexels

Recently, I noticed she has been having some major business downtimes, she has her business established in a student region and based on the ongoing school strike in Nigeria, she has been experiencing business downtime. She told me she was trying all she can to keep the business afloat until normalcy returns, she has tried to cut down expenses to a very reasonable level and the business isn’t yielding fruits, in the midst of all of this, she has tried not to let go of her staff because she does not want her to go without food to eat and the job happens to be the only means of survival, the moment I advised her against keeping a staff at this point, when she needs all the profit she can harness, she wouldn’t even hear of it at all.

If I was in her position, I would have closed down the business a long time ago, because I really do not think I have the patience to put in so much effort yielding little to no returns, according to her however, every form of effort or sacrifice she is making to the business is because she is sure there will be profit gained from it in the future, loosing faith in the business now and closing down the business according to her, is giving up and that is not in her dictionary.
I choose her as a mentor for a reason, her resilience is top notch and for everything I learn from her, I just love her the more.

pexels-mart-production-7605938.jpg
Photo by MART PRODUCTION from Pexels

I really hope and pray that her resilience pays off eventually, and I have as well learnt that, giving up when a business isn’t going as planned is not healthy enough. No successful man/woman attains success by choosing to quit at the slightest challenge of life, successful men are rather known by how much they were able to persevere and push through the odds in order to attain the success they desire.

Sort:  

If you want some inspiration persevering in the face of challenges, check out some of my recent posts. I've been on the verge of living out of a tent, nearly lost a lot of money and belongings to a rental scam, and even got sued. I'm still standing and going strong.

Though times really do not last forever, only tough people do, I have really learnt that as well.

Great sentiment!

Challenges are part of what people expect in the course of their life's journey but resilience, just as you have explained, is needed to face and overcome the challenges.

Excellent read, dear Bimbo

Thanks @samminator, challenges would surely come to us in life but they are never meant to last forever.

Very well said that we should not give up at all specially when we are not aware about challenge and we have not gone through it. Once we go through then only we realise the is 10th off challenge earned will be able to deal wit it or not

Well said friend, going through challenges is the only way to find out if we will come out victorious or not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61238.36
ETH 3278.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46