You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The virus. A look at the available data & my thoughts. Are you prepared? #COVID2019

in Project HOPE4 years ago

Hi @doifeellucky

It is definitely going to be an interesting time and I think everyone has had their lives impacted in some way already. Shortages in the supermarkets etc. are already prevalent. The best we can do is not-panic but take the necessary precautions. We can really limit our chance of catching the virus by following some good hygiene practices but there is always a risk.

One positive I suppose, is that as a society we can learn so much from this particular virus that will help us to better prepare for future viruses. As we have seen with previous Sars, swine flu, bird flu, zika and others, this is a repeating occurrence and we could face even worse in the future. So let's learn from this experience and ensure our governments protect us better next time too.

Sort:  

To me the number one priority is limiting possible exposure for now and being prepared with reasonable efforts. These efforts may individually vary of course and I'm by far not saying that I'm an expert in regards to disease control, but I'm experienced in data analysis. The data I see at the moment, even if inconclusive in many ways, is disturbing to say the least!

My assumptions:

  1. We have to assume that the actual case numbers are much higher including the CFR (case fatality rate). There could be a lot of cases that simply are added into the "yearly flu fatalities" rather than into COVID19 cases for instance.

  2. The data seems to clearly show - now already - that the low case number regions correlate with countries/regions in which proper measures were implemented. Quarantines/Lockdowns/Travel restrictions and so on.

  3. Why take risks if you don't have to? This is a question everybody must answer for themselves. This foremost applies to business/cultural/sports events and so on.

  4. Information exchange with others can be essential! I don't trust mainstream news outlets or officials. You cannot trust them obviously. They're trying to balance economics with human life's and healthcare resources. They're basically gambling with out life's! Just check up in your country or region how the escalation in wording progresses especially in the last 10 days.

  5. Supply chain impacts around health care. Be aware that most pharmaceutical supplies aren't produced locally! You have one guess were many of the ingredients or ready to use medications come from. You guessed right... China! How long do you think it has taken until the Chinese officials actually have begun to triage the available healthcare support locally and when they are regulating what will leave the country or what they'll keep for their own population. I'm not talking any helpful medication around the symptoms of the flu or COVID19 I'm talking a lot of stuff that keeps large numbers of people alive every day. Blood pressure meds, coronary meds, diabetes and so on.

Like I wrote before, if I'm wrong I'm surely running the risk of being ridiculed and laughed at. I can easily life with that. If I'm right, maybe some who read this have a chance to rethink their personal risk appetite.

Cheers!
Lucky

I hope no one ridicules you for raising concerns as we all need to be super cautious and sensible. However, we also need to be rational and considerate for others. There are a number of Covid-19 patients in my local hospital but I hear on the news people are stealing face masks and hand sanitizer from the hospital. Some people just do stupid selfish things when they feel scared. So let's educate people but also stay calm.

As you say above, the number one priorty has to be limiting exposure.

❤️👍

 4 years ago 

It will indeed be interesting and challenging time @awah

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58067.54
ETH 2469.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40