How I Ended up Scamming a Scammer

in Project HOPE4 years ago


My recent silence on Hive and Steemit was because I was working on a thesis. While I was rushing through my work on one of the nights, I received a facebook messenger message from my mom. Weird, I thought, I have never ever received any messages from her over Facebook. Hence, I immediately contacted her. 

While she never picked up, the way she wrote the messages were .... Alien.. So I thought, if she...or it was my mom, it will know how to call me out on being funny. And so, the fun begins. 

The Fun Begins...

So here is the start of the fun:

image.png

image.png

Well, my mom would never ever ask if I'm interested in a grant, so this is definitely a scammer I thought. I was bored from writing my thesis so I thought, hey, let's try to string this person along as long as possible. So I started small to see how good or knowledgeable this person was. I started with geography and general knowledge. I mean united Singapore dollars was somewhat believable, maybe even united senegal denarii, but it seems that I'm dealing with someone who is exteremely accomodating.

image.png

So this was the time when I got the "link". Well, no way I'm clicking on this, no? So I thought I shall invoke my inner DRAMA QUEEN (ahem.. I mean king... drama king).

image.png

So I first pulled the virus card and blamed it on the person, thinking maybe that would throw this person off. Well, at the very least this person knew that it was s whatsapp link and that there was no virus. But I'm the one who is being scammed here right? The least I could do was being a Karen about it. So I pointed the blame back at the person. Then it occured to me that this person doesn't know if I have whatsapp and hence, an idea came...

image.png

As I played dumb, I thought that I should think of something smart quick, or else I would lose that person very quickly. So I tried pushing my dumbness and blurness a little bit more, hoping for an opening.

image.png

image.png

At this point, I think the person caught on and he has started to give up, but I supposed maybe that person was patient enough to continue this conversation. I tried my best to win that person's trust, or rather... interest.

image.png

image.png

Ok, no joy... I think I have completely lost that person but I think it has come to its realization that perhaps, I was not serious all along. That being said, this incident really made my night I had loads of fun and guess what, so did the many others whom I've shared it with.

So I hope you've had quite a laugh and if you do ever find yourself in a situation where you are speaking to a scammer. Talk to the guy, get to know them and maybe entertain yourself a bit, you deserve it. As James Veitch said, maybe if you buy some of the time of these individuals who are out to scam others, who knows? You just may be saving someone gullible from a scam.

Sort:  

Those scammers are always blowing hot and they try to act extra smart, I love the way you handled the situation, we need to tighten our belt against scammers actually.

we do and especially with so many of them these days, its scary!

I'm very glad you gave him one that scammer and let him exposing publicly I've seen a lot of people falling with the tale of the Prince of Africa or the lady that he inherited money and wants to share it with you Good job, you have to give those people long and they themselves abandon when they see that they get nothing.

Funny post

Thank you, was good that i managed to find out that he was a scammer , think its extremely important to make sure that we don't fall for them.

At least you have a fun session with this scammer. ;)

I sure try to! I mean they tried so hard to scam me, the least i could do is repay that effort hahahaha

 4 years ago 

Dear @alvinauh

Interesting choice of topic. Very catchy title :)
Finally I found some time to catch up with previously bookmarked posts. Solid read.

Thanks for sharing your experience.

My recent silence on Hive and Steemit was because I was working on a thesis.
Hope to see more of you in the future :)

Have a great upcoming weekend,
Yours, Piotr

Thank you! Yup, now that i've completed that chapter (pun intended) hope to finally put it behind me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68820.96
ETH 3915.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64