Brace Yourselves For Increased Bus Fares

in Team Uganda3 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I left the city center and traveled up country. Needed the change of environment and definitely had missed my grand parents. I come from Ntungamo to be exact. I had spent sometime without visiting because of my work schedules and the Covid-19 pandemic. I have always been worried about carrying the various home with me along the journey. This would be risky because we have elderly people at home and for the other relatives as well. Thus I went home only when I was sure we were using private means for transport. This way the risk is Minimal.

Did I mention I had taken a while without going home?, this is true. And I have always feared using public transport because of the fear of Covid-19. So today I sucked up my fear and boarded a bus. Gateway bus is the transport company I chose because it was passing through Masaka, Mbarara, Ntungamo to Kabale.
Link
IMG_1579.JPG

At the entrance of the bus there was a lady receiving money and Issueing payment receipts to the passengers boarding the bus. The public transport fares have shot up. My journey from Kampala to Ntungamo cost me 40,000/= Uganda Shillings. This used to be 30,000/= before the festive seasons.

C1C78D7F-E238-4AA4-97D6-CCD69B7E4EE0.jpg

The stewards (Conductors) of our bus explained that with the social distancing and other covid-19 regulations imposed on the public transport sector, they are forced to only take half the normal number the bus is designed to carry.
A 2 seater can only have one person and a 3 seater can only have 2 people.

With the festive season coming up, the transport fares are going to shoot up. If you are planning to travel this festive season, you will need to brace yourself for these prices.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Oh safe stay in Ntungamo...
I have ever been in Itojjo town near Ntungamo.

Thank you @Vianneyspirit. Itojo is a good town. Usually pass through when either going to or from Kampala

You have been curated by @yohan2on, a country representative (Uganda). We are curating using the steemcurator04 curator account to support steemians in Africa.

Always follow @ steemitblog for updates on steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57483.55
ETH 3066.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29