Team Uganda Contest|| How the Second Uganda Total Lockdown Has Affected My Life by @faithilyn ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ฌ ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ฌ

in Team Uganda โ€ข 3 years ago (edited)

coronavirus-4947210_640.jpg
Source

Thank you so much @yohan2on for this great initiative. I have waited for this for a long time ๐Ÿ™.

The topic for the contest is so perfect because this is something that everyone in this community is experiencing.

How has the Second Uganda Total Lockdown Affected My Life.

This second lock down has affected me in many ways and one of the way is that I can't go to church, In all the days of the week, I always look out to Sundays. I love Sundays because that's when I get out my "Sunday best"๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ‘— and go to church to worship God and also partake of the sacrament. I miss the laughter's , handshakes and hugs from my friends. Sometimes I sit at home and start memorizing all the good moments we used to share at church. Though we call and check on each other but it's still not the same.

IMG-20170607-WA0005.jpg
Me at church with friends

IMG_20210411_124102_7.jpg
At church with friends

Before the lockdown, as youth leaders at church we were organising a talent show which was to take place in October. And we had put in all our efforts to see that it becomes a success, so we had started trainings and the youth loved it so much and enjoyed every bit of it, little did we know that we were going to be cut short by this lock down. Because of the lockdown, we are locked up at home and we can nolonger gather together to do the trainings, what pains me most is that, we had given it our best, we had spent sleepless nights thinking about what to do to make the activity a success. @amazing-grace you know this! But right now all is left in guesses.

As if that was not enough, On Monday I went to town(masaka town) to do some transactions but guess what??๐Ÿ˜’ the fact that, my easiest means of transport (boda boda) was also hindered from transporting people, so I had to walk all the way from my place of residence to town which is about 2 and 1/2 kilometers, Walking under the hot sunโ˜€๏ธ and on a dusty road. Monday was really my worst nightmare. But God gave me the strength and I reached town, dusted off the too much dust that was on my feet and shoes, and then went ahead and did what I had gone to do.

Now the problem came when time came for me to go back home, honestly I was so tired that I couldn't walk that distance again, do what I did, there are these boda boda guys who are not scared, they call themselves (mitima gyakakuba) so he came to me and asked if I was going, I told him "yes" and I sat but my heart was pounding like crazy , I was in fear of breaking the law. But lucky enough We didn't find any obstacle along the way and we reached home safely.

People are really going to die of this too much walking. People are walking very long distances which puts alot of pressure on their bodies more that what the body can handle.

You know it's normally through challenges that you get to learn. If you don't learn through a hard time then you will never learn. It's very bad to be at home and you don't have any means of transport, So I have learnt that I have to have a simple means of transport at home to help me in some simple movements. And right now am planning to save and atleast buy a scooter. I have been thinking about it for some time, but this transport challenge has really opened my eyes again.

piaggio-3714634_640.jpg
Source

As write this, I have plans of going to town again but I feel I can't handle the distance, so I guess I will just put it to hold until when I feel the energy to do so.

Am grateful for Steemit for the opportunity it gave me to work from home. I believe and I know that through my hardwork and consistency I will get the money I need to buy the scooter and work on my transport issue.

My people, though we are going through this hard time, and trying to struggle through it, let's not forget that covid 19 is real, let's make it part of us by checking yourselves before you leave home whether you have your mask and sanitiser because this is the way to go.

Sort: ย 

All our plans went down the drain. But let's be hopeful. The scooter is such a good idea mukazi.

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚Hahaha.....

ย 3 years agoย 

thanks for this good post, i pray your plans of purchasing a scooter succeeds . stay safe and well !!!

It's my prayer too. Thank you very much @vianneyspirit

ย 3 years agoย 

Hi @faithilyn

Sorry for the long distance walking challenge you had on Monday during this lockdown period. It's nice to learn of the lesson drawn out of it. Saving and buying that scooter will indeed help you a lot in the future when such incidences happen again.

Thanks for your entry.

Am working towards achieving it. Thank you so much.

Sorry for that long distance movement, indeed how is one going to solve that problem of moving long distances

We will solve it by having a simple means of transport at home. Even if it's a bicycle.

You have been curated by @yohan2on, a country representative (Uganda). We are curating using the steemcurator04 curator account to support steemians in Africa.

Keep creating good content on Steemit.

Always follow @ steemitblog for updates on steemit

Thank you so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41