The most exciting place I have been at in Uganda.

in Team Uganda3 years ago

Fellow steemians, i greet you all in the name of Jesus Christ. I hope you are all keeping safe, staying home, sanitizing and wearing your masks.
I'm so grateful for this contest organized by our country representative. Personally i am a travel freak! I hate being in one place (you can imagine how i feel with the whole lockdown situation). So every opportunity i get to travel, i grab with two hands.
I've been to quite a number of places allover uganda. I have created beautiful memories in my head and also through pictures.
But since the contest asked for the most exciting of them all, for me it is Lemala wildwaters. This place is located in kangulumila on kayunga road. I usually plan my trips with friends and yes i did go with a friend to this place as well. It is not very far from jinja town.
One needs to book before going over. I didn't know that, so we almost were denied entrance but after making a few calls, we were allowed (yes, you need to book even if you are just going over for lunch!)

IMG-20190602-WA0100.jpg
In the picture above we had just arrived and we had to walk to the lake where the boat would then pick us to take us to the place since it is on an island.

IMG-20190602-WA0025.jpg
Above is the dock where you wait for the boat, and behind me is the boat coming to pick us up.

IMG-20190602-WA0054.jpg
The boat ride... Yes they use such simple boats and not the luxurious engine boats. The water around there has many rocks so one has to be careful.

IMG-20190602-WA0033.jpg
This is the walk way to the place. It is quite a long walk and you have to be careful, especially if you have children.

IMG-20190602-WA0005.jpg
The magical view at the island! That place is the most beautiful place I've been to. I took a zillion pictures of the place. The swimming pool overlooks the water and it is super nice. The time i was there, in 2019, swimming was $15 per person.
Also, their food was super delicious. Back then the meals were ranging between ugx 30,000 and ugx 70,000. I ate fish and fries and it costed ugx 45,000.

IMG_20190602_135028_3.jpg
Let me share some more pictures from the island. Meanwhile, the sound of the water there is amazing.

IMG_20190602_152011_3.jpg

IMG_20190602_152835_3.jpg
We just went to see the island and have lunch. But it does have lodges for people who want to spend nights. By then a night was around ugx one million per person. The lodge was closed for renovation and it just recently opened with new prices. The lodges are so beautiful. The rooms are so spaced, one from another for privacy. What i like most is the fact that each room has a bathtub outside!

images.jpeg
source
I have been to may places, but for me by far, lemala wild waters is the most exciting and breathtaking place I've been to.
@debbiez

Sort:  

Hands down! Lemala is awesome.

you can imagine how i feel with the whole lockdown situation

Haha, I can. Trust me. Well, I gotta say I love your creativity in writing. It's not roboty and it's a breath of fresh air. Kudoz!

Thank you so much! I'm flattered.

 3 years ago 

Lemala Wild Water is indeed such a unique and exciting place according to your description and experience. Wow!!, One million UGX per night. Anyway, it's worth it given the comfort and the beautiful view of the place. I am glad to have learnt about that place for the first time in your article. It should be a great place for a wedded couples' honeymoon.

Thanks for participating in the contest.

Yes it is weirdly expensive but very beautiful.

This is so beautiful I need to be there one day

Yes it is worth the visit.

You have been curated by @yohan2on, a country representative (Uganda). We are curating using the steemcurator04 curator account to support steemians in Africa.

Keep creating good content on Steemit.

Always follow @ steemitblog for updates on steemit

in 2019, swimming was $15 per person.

Eish, thats expensive but I like the view. +30,000ugx on a food is not bad. Glad you enjoyed your visit.

I did. It was so worth it.

Good to know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35