You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is there a road back?

in OCD5 years ago

Interesting query and I suppose it has a lot to do with individual personality.

I believe there is a place here for everyone. Every religious zealot. Every free speech advocate. Every basement troll. Every inspirational life coach, social justice warrior and business person.

I am empowered by my right to not subscribe to subject matter I don't want to see on my feed, and people I choose to interact with. I choose to live and let live, letting the people to be free to post what they wish and face the the rewards and consequences.

Where I don't have the control is when I am targeted. There are people I have supported a long time who get themselves into some flag wars because of their heightened reputation, stake, investment and passion. When I get caught up in that, I just count it as a right of passage and a lending of my light weight to a bigger cause.

Some of the passionate people who have become friends here have introduced themselves to me via a well crafted or passionate roast. @skramatters comes to mind and I kinda found @berniesanders entertaining.

This place is big and everyone will find their place. There will be confrontations in the grey areas but that is inevitable because of human nature. Plus, people have the ability and right to change and evolve as they fail and learn.

People don't need my forgiveness to thrive here. Though it is available.

Sort:  

Plus, people have the ability and right to change and evolve as they fail and learn.

This is key I believe as if there is no space to fail and recover, then the cost of trying is far too high. None of us are infallible, none of us are right-offs either. From a content perspective, I do not care what anyone posts, but there are always consequences and costs to actions of all types.

When I get caught up in that, I just count it as a right of passage and a lending of my light weight to a bigger cause.

Yeah, there is very little that can be done in some cases. There is what you can control, what you can influence, and what you have no control over. For me, I play my game and do the best I can.

!ENGAGE 30



@zekepickleman you have received 30 ENGAGE from @tarazkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61