Unable to Fall Asleep...

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

wbm8be.jpg
bs3m38.jpg
Unable to fall asleep, revising a new poem I wrote...


A House Divided

I was in a life-long rush
because I could not guess
when I might self-combust

Every sunrise to sunset
I tried hard to run fast & far
to outdistance disaster


dm8xoo.jpg


But I was never free
to be other than me
or reset a date with fate

I was never given
one secure day to live in
without fear of self-sabotage


ckf05u.jpg


So, a part of me carefully built
a makeshift shelter from the storm
while another part wore it down

Meantime, I learned to pray
and repeat, by night and day:
Heaven save us from ourselves.

—-Y. Lababidi


npz51v.jpg


Art by Al Farrow

Sort:  

The art is incredible.

I presume you refer to the sculpture (and not my slender poetry) & I agree :) Nice to see you back.

Yes, the sculpture. I really like it. Being honest, poetry isn't really my thing, but I didn't say I didn't like it.

Good to see you again!

I’ll take that & am happy to introduce you to art that I also admire :)

Hope, too, that one day you find the right poetry that speaks to you —- it can be a mighty, mighty thing!

I respect poetry. I've written out a few sloppy ones in my day. My own oddball style... but I know better than to call myself a poet when I do it. It's more of an experiment when I do it. It wouldn't take me long to learn proper structure and all that to make it official but like I said, it's just not my thing.

Fair enough. Part of the mistrust of poetry, I find, is the sloppy, self-indulgent nonsense that calls itself by that name. Thank you, for your answer.

Nonames, you seem to enjoy a large, loyal following of colorful characters, might you, please, help me get the word out on this new contest I’m trying to promote: https://steemit.com/hive-174578/@yahialababidi/announcing-contest-30-50-steem-calling-all-filmmakers

‪Thank you,
Yahia ‬


9pgxgv.jpg

@nonameslefttouse not sure if my message went through (half asleep, battling cold) might you, please, help me get the word out on this new contest I’m promoting: https://steemit.com/hive-174578/@yahialababidi/announcing-contest-30-50-steem-calling-all-filmmakers

‪Thank you,
Yahia ‬


9pgxgv.jpg

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @sunravelme.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Thank you, for your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59