Are You Playing Checkers Or Chess In The Game Of Steem?

in OCD5 years ago


chess-2727443_640.jpg

Last night, instead of going out and celebrating our long weekend at a bar, I decided to stay in and play chess with a friend. This decision was largely motivated by my realization that the days of cheap Steem are numbered and I can't justify spending 300 steem at the bar!

I don't know when I started relating Steem to actual money, but I think it's kinda cool that I'm able to break some pretty strong habits because of it. ~300 steem and $50 seem totally different to me! I'd take the Steem over the $ any day!

During the early part of the bear market, I started to look at every Steem I earned or bought as being worth at least $1. This mindset served as motivation to keep writing, as well as the extra nudge I needed to keep buying as we gradually sunk into the crypto abyss.

This is when I believe I started thinking of this little game of life, as a chess board that only came with one piece...the King. The whole point of the game is to protect your king, while using your resources to take out the opposing king. Now the opposing king could represent any goal that you might have, so in my case it was financial freedom!

Hard to play a game of chess without many pieces though!

I'd like to think of whatever i'm able to build during the life of this bear market as recruiting an army to take into battle. In checkers, every piece is pretty much the same, unless you make it across the and get a king, which has the ability to cover vast distances giving you an incredible edge. The simplicity and predictability surround the game is sorta like the traditional market and old wealth generating avenues like the stock market and real-estate.

The longer we go not realizing that the world is playing by a new set of rules, the weaker our army will be when it's time to actually take action!

When the masses return to the crypto space, will you be playing with pawns that are limited to predictable and specific movements, or queens that have the ability to go in any direction necessary to reach her goal?

Source




Sort:  

Keeping queens well protected for that checkmate move. 👸🏼👀

Lots of wisdom here!

Lmao I learned it early 😂

Wow! I like the way your brain works!!!
Very nice!

Have a good day!

I wish I could've expanded on the idea a little more, but I had to get back to studying haha!

Have a great day as well!

Hi, @waphilip!

You just got a 3.87% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64167.02
ETH 2769.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67