You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: COVID-19: Liberty vs. Safety and Security

in OCD4 years ago

To be honest, I am so confused when it comes to the coronavirus that I have no clue what I really believe anymore. In some moments, I do admire Sweden who has kept life running as usual (almost), and according to the trends, they seem to get on the better side of the story already as the cases go down. Of course, many people have died, but they haven't killed businesses as much as others, and life is still going on, and it seems to go in the right direction.

But, then, what is the value of human life? That is the question to me... Is it worth sacrificing so much to protect ourselves? I really don't know. Because, we might save the lives of many people, but I fear many people at home without jobs, money, and so - will fall into big depressions and maybe suicide thoughts, meaning that the other side of the story is very black and depressing, and maybe much worse than the actual death numbers.

But, you probably get it - I am so confused and don't really know what to think!

Sort:  

Yes @unbiasedwriter we live in confusing times. As an engineer, I tend to see things in more "black and white" terms than others may. So ... Personally, I like the contrast of light and darkness, as it is linked to the natural experiences of us all. In my long life, it seems to me we are heading deeper into darkness, unable to "see" for sure what is going on ...

"But, then, what is the value of human life? That is the question to me..."

Yes, that is the question we are all being asked, in one way or another. Whether intentional or not, I do not profess to be wise enough to know, but I make a case in this post this is a misleading question. Based on the false premise that the "Almighty" State can provide a viable alternative to us continuing to work our way through this very difficult time.

Even in historic times of war, that has always been the case. Why now have "we" (collectively) chosen to respond differently? Why have "we" (collectively) so easily accepted the State's message they can "save" us from having to go through it?

As you say, Sweden has chosen a different approach, which is much more in line with historic norms. The rest of us? IMHO, we are only in the very early stages of finding out what the unintended (?) consequences are going to be for us all, some of whom will also contract COVID-19 ...

Thank you for investing your time in adding value to this post!

Great feedback @unbiasedwriter. Solid read

I am so confused when it comes to the coronavirus that I have no clue what I really believe anymore

Same here. I think we should focus on protecting ourselfs and preparing for possible outcome (another great depression). More than seeking the truth on "real agenda" or "who started it" etc.

After all we cannot have an impact on those things. So let's focus our efforts on things that can make our life easier during those challenging times. That's my personal view.

Of course, many people have died, but they haven't killed businesses as much as others, and life is still going on, and it seems to go in the right direction.

People do not seem to take into consideration, that businesses can be rebuild. And dead population = permanent lose on those who pay taxes. That also means thousands consumers less. Permanently. Some of those people run businesses too. And those businesses will also die. Permanently.

Some of those people and businesses had to pay their loans, morgages. Those are permanently money lose. Dissapeared.

That's also something we should keep in mind. This is what OUR HUMAN life is worth in my opinion.

Cheers, Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44