Operation stay awoke begins in my street steemCreated with Sketch.

in OCD4 years ago

elephants4499210_1920.jpg
unity and strength

Operation-stay-awoke begins in my area. It started last night. Last night was a day of unrest. From the distance we could hear police sirens and multiple gunshots, in light of this the youth in my street and the next street took the initiative to engage operation-stay-awake immediately; arming one another with crude tools such as axe, cutlass, hoes, spade, dagger, iron.rod, bamboo sticks, stones and bottles. As robbery is best said than experienced.

If you read my previous post, I did shed light on operation-stay-awake at the footer of the post. A noisy movement of a crowd that involves people in a community, armed with crude tools; setting ablaze of worn out tyres at the doorsteps entering and exiting their street, making loud noises in preparedness to resist and fight the rampage of hoodlums terrorizing communities under the low radar and coverage of the police security with robbery attacks and nothing-to-steal induced murder during this lockdown.

Right now as I write this post, the time is just 11:27pm and I can already hear the rowdy noise of plastic trumpets and whistle coupled with clutches of machetes roaring in my street. We got a bit of information from other communities that have suffered disaster from the hands of these hoodlums on the news. They said these hoodlums come in thousands and register their attacks at the same time like they are omniscient. At a go, they could be attacking more than 20 communities at a time in multitudes. No wonder they call themselves ONE MILLION BOYS.

Given the menace with hoodlums, I am not sure I will be having a good night sleep in the coming days to come. These are the rotten consequences of the lockdown and fruits of bad government who didn't build the country to where it is supposed to be.

EV1bUScXkAAsnCq.jpeg
pic from https://twitter.com/@ncdcgov

The sad part is that the number of Covid-19 cases keeps increasing drastically from 1, now the number of cases has risen to 493. With 159 discharged and 17 deaths. I wonder if we'll ever go back to our normal lives anything soon because the poor masses yet to receive any palliative from the government are dying of starvation and potential robbery attacks.

This time is the most difficult period in my region and in the whole world. Covid-19 nuisance, starvation and robbery attacks.

To add more salt to the injuries, I have been having this strange headache since morning, suffering from 20+ power outage, bombarded with online classes and assignments. Shit I'm damn fatigued and in a couple of minutes I will be heading outside to join forces with the community in operation-stay-awoke. Trouble here and there. Lol.

I wish this was just a bad dream but I can't believe this is a sad reality of life.


attention: cover image is a property of pixabay.com

Sort:  

I'm so sorry to hear that you are going through this. The lock-down has consequences for people around the globe but the poorer countries have it the hardest. Governments everywhere suck, without a doubt. Just some are more corrupt and greedy than others. I wish you all the power you need to get through this unharmed. Please take care of yourself.

I wanna thank you for commenting on this post as I have not be getting those in a long while. Also I see you have been away for sometime and I was the first author you branched at.

It is a sad reality. The government, the failed system, the corruption, the pandemic, the starvation and the robbery is a sorry sight to behold. Someday in the future I believe all this will be a distant memory and one would reflect with a sigh of relief that one came, saw and conquered.

Between I am keeping safe, just on guard in uniformity to resist the potential threat of robbery. Hope you are safe as well and coping with the current situation?

Yes, I've been away for some time. First my PC started to act up and desperately needed an upgrade, which hasn't been done yet. Then I moved house on the 1st of March (perfect timing!) to a place that couldn't have been better for our current situation (far away from everyone and everything) but with one negative: bad internet connection. The worst I have seen since the late '90's...not even kidding either.

Then the shit really hit the fan and we had to go on lock-down, so getting better internet service was put on hold since half their people were laid off and no one will come near anyone's house.
Meanwhile hive was born, and I had to read up on all of the happenings while I couldn't do a thing with it or about it. So here we are. Just getting back to 'normal'. Normal in regards to blogging I mean. And I still haven't made up my mind yet, whether to write on both platforms of just the one...
Both feels like a betrayal but then I see others do it.
So yeah, all in all: luxury problems really when I look at how others in the rest of the world live now. I count my blessings. Although I can't wait to get off this godforsaken island (Ireland) as soon as it's possible again...

I'm glad you're safe. Being on guard is good, I guess we all are now in a way.
And yes, I'm sure we'll look back at this with relief one day (hopefully soon).
I just keep reminding myself that there are people in the world who are not as well of and safe as I am with my family. I feel for those people really. Being in a shit situation like this if your life was reasonably secure before is one thing but living now while it was already a struggle before is a completely different ballgame. That things have to change is certain. No better time than now.

This post earned a total payout of 11.148$ and 5.574$ worth of author reward that was liquified using @likwid.
Learn more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44