One day in this Covid-19 lockdown

in OCD4 years ago

I'd not been a fan of all these popular make-believe films. My interest in them is about 10%. I find it difficult to sit down and watch films except short clips and documentaries. In sports, I don't care much about football, but I like watching boxing and wrestling.

During this lockdown a.k.a sit-at-home period, my activities revolve around phone, TV, radio, reading and sleeping.

However, for want of something to do last week, I pulled my laptop and scrolled to video. Then "Vikings 2013 TV Series" caught my attention. I had a vague idea of Vikings as some ancient fighters. Besides, there was this cult group in my school days with that name.

I clicked on it to see several episodes of the film. As I watched the startups, it was a story of a heartless set of people who had no regards for human life and Christianity. I wanted to stop and find something else to do but, became curious due to the fact that a heathen set of people, led by a merciless and ambitious Ragnar made a mess of Christians, in spite of their trust in God. In fact, this ravaging pagan gang became a thorn in the flesh of both England and France.

"How could God allow such barbarians to attack, defeat and plunder his people this way?" I asked myself.

I then wanted to know where that story will lead to. And so, episode after episode I watched. After all, I was indoors and not going to work. Courtesy of Covid-19. The more I watched, the more my fury kept rising at the success of this Ragnar's group.

You see, even his first wife, Lagertha, Floki, the boat builder, Rollo, his brother, in fact, all of them were very strong, crafty, daring and deadly. In spite of their wickedness, they were marching on, from success to success.

It was only when they attacked Paris that they met a stiff resistance that drove them back. But, trust a bunch of ambitious greedy men, they would not let go. They kept planning and making moves to overcome other people.

Everyone of them was a soldier, trained from childhood to kill human beings with swords, spears, axes, bare hands, bows and arrows. And so, all the sons of Ragnar were warriors of note, including the evil genius, the cripple Ivar who described himself as Ivar the Boneless.

Even before Ragnar was killed, his first son, Ubbe had already established himself as a raiding gang leader that went to Spain. He came back from Spain to join others to avenge the killing of their father. Thereafter, he planned to go to the Mediterranean to attack Rome, while Ivar led another group.

There were lots of evil among these people which showed they were in spiritual darkness. These included, murder, adultery, betrayal, infidelity, and above all, slavery and human sacrifice.

It was really sad to see how a gang of ruthless thieves was just decimating innocent people. When I recover from my anger and shock then, I would gather enough strength to watch the newer episodes which I know will centre on Ubbe and Ivar.

All the same I give kudos to Take 5 Production because the film was very much engaging. In fact, my attitude to films has changed. My interest has gone up. I've watched several, and I know I'll go back to Vikings soon.
IMG_20200404_205624.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58020.27
ETH 2464.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37