Do Blue Faced Honey Eaters Like Milkshakes?

in OCD4 years ago

Do Blue Faced Honey Eaters Like Milkshakes?

I was enjoying lunch in the outdoor setting of the Rockhampton Zoo Gardens in Queensland, Australia when I noticed a beautiful Blue Faced Honey Eater study the remnants of a meal left by a couple a few minutes earlier.

This Blue Faced honey Eater must have liked the aromatic sweetness coming from an aluminium milkshake container on the abandoned table.

bf 11.jpg

But out of the corner of his eye, he spied a little bit of strawberry jam stuck in the corner of a small sachet.

bf 3.jpg

He checked that no one was going to come and remove it and stuck his beak into the corners to partake of the sweet jam.

bf 4.jpg

He wasted no time returning to investigate whatever contents remained in the milkshake container but he was on alert and I assumed he was familiar with the staff who would appear any moment to clear up or perhaps he wasn't willing to share his find with another bird.

bf 6.jpg

I think he must have been warning other birds away as he wasn't in the mood for sharing. But my question was this. If he did like the contents in this container, how on earth would he get to the bottom of it to drink whatever was left? His beak wasn't that long.

bf 5.jpg

By now, I could tell that he was more than interested.

bf 7.jpg

Woops...….he nearly fell in. His feet gripped the edge of the container and he peered down further in its depths. How frustrating! So close, but so far away.

bf 9.jpg

But this Blue Faced Honey Eater was determined and wasn't prepared to leave without sampling at least a little of the dregs at the bottom. So, in answer to my question. Yes...……...Blue Faced Honey Eaters DO like milkshakes. Great balance eh?

Because I love digital manipulation, I thought I'd finish each one of my future posts with a digital image taken from one of my original photographs which relates to my blog. And I will use the tag #alwaysadigital

So, with that in mind here it is:

BF SE .png

And because I'm feeling generous I will include one more.

SE BF png.png

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

qurator gif.gif

team-australia-hive-badge-slim-cowboys-hive.blog-trudeehunter.png

Quirite badge RS.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19