Travelgirl Supporting Lifeline’s Book Fair

in OCD5 years ago (edited)

Hi Everyone,

Recently Daddy E and I have been into books (mainly Daddy E) and he has been buying a lot of books from Amazon. Our friend suggested checking out the Vinnies, Red Cross and Lifelines around our area and to our surprise, we actually found many great quality books at low prices (many of them are brand new!). This has got us going around to many shops these last weekend and we attended the first Lifeline Book Fair at Chatswood today. All proceeds go to Lifeline which helps the homeless and needy people in Australia.

IMG_1338 (2).JPG

Located at The Concourse in the middle of Chatswood, we found the book fair easily. We couldn’t wait to go inside as it was 38 degrees outdoors which was so unbearable. Right at the door, you can find your favourite genre of books and go to that specific section. Books range from 20c to $2 if you find a sticker or if there isn’t a sticker, go by the price written on the first page of the book. They are mostly $3-$5 depending on the quality. We arrived at around 11am and it was packed! The place was full of people so Daddy E and I go straight into it.

IMG_1790.JPG

IMG_6518 2.JPG

IMG_5113.JPG

There were all sorts of books. I first went to find the Asian section which only had a few Chinese books that were interesting. I then moved onto biography and life/parenting which took most of my time there. Daddy E was into economics, health/wellbeing, biography and some history. Other books I did quickly check out were the young adult section as I would love to find something I used to read back in primary/high school. I found the book variety was a bit of a disappointment as I guess we did go there later as they started at 8am no the day.

IMG_0326.JPG

IMG_7891.JPG

IMG_8983.JPG

We ended up spending $58 with two huge bags of books. A tip is to bring your own bag and if you intend to buy a lot, bring your own trolley like some people. It was a great move as you want to have something to hold your books while you search for more on the table. The next one is in April at Thornleigh so I will probably be able to go to that one after I come back from Korea!

IMG_0536 (2).JPG

IMG_8053 2 (1).JPG

IMG_8605.JPG

04A51312-5383-4B5A-B0D1-88E7F4E495DC.JPG

happywalk02.gif

animation by @catwomanteresa

Travelgirl pic.jpeg


Thanks for reading. If you like my post, please follow, comment and upvote me. There will be more exciting posts & destinations to come.

謝謝你們收看。 請你們繼續跟隨,留言和投我一票 . 我會分享更多遊記和其他有趣的 blog.

All photos & videos are taken by me & co in all my blogs/stories unless quoted. 每張相片和視頻都是我們自己拍的

Sort:  

If you know what to look for there can be some real gems amongst this lot.
I need to find time to read the books I already have!

yes time is what I am lacking

!engage 20



@shaidon you have received 20 ENGAGE from @travelgirl!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Wow ! You must have bought loads of books at that price !! Great find and for a great cause !

yah 2 big bags of them! and knowing where our money goes is great ....

!engage 20



@livinguktaiwan you have received 20 ENGAGE from @travelgirl!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

吃了吗?请支持中文区的见证人, @abit @bobdos @ety001 @justyy @oflyhigh @partiko (首字母顺序),全投,一个都不要漏。假如我的留言打扰到你,请回复“取消”。

hiiii. I'm just curious when seeing a lot of posts with the hive-***** tag. Could you please tell me what it is. xD. I have been wondering for a while but haven't got it.
Did I miss something going on here on Steemit? lol

They are communities. There are different once on Steemit now.

Ohh. I’m getting to know it.
Thank you. 😀

Hi @travelgirl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.722 which ranks you at #462 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 6 places in the last three days (old rank 456).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 98 contributions, your post is ranked at #4.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

!thumbup
恭喜你!您的这篇文章入选 @justyy 今日 (2020-02-03) 榜单 【优秀的文章】, 回复本条评论24小时内领赏,点赞本评论将支持 @dailychina 并增加将来您的奖赏。
@justyy 是CN区的见证人,请支持他,给他投票,或者设置justyy为见证人代理。感谢!@justyy的主要贡献:https://steemyy.com

Congratulations! This post has been selected by @justyy as today's (2020-02-03) 【Good Posts】, Steem On! Reply to this message in 24 hours to get rewards. Upvote this comment to support the @dailychina and increase your future rewards! ^_^

SteemIt 工具、API接口、机器人和教程
SteemIt Tools, Bots, APIs and Tutorial



If you believe what I am doing, please consider a spare vote voting me here, thank you very much indeed.

@justyy - the author of https://SteemYY.com and I have been a Steem Witness for more than a year now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58990.94
ETH 2670.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44