You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The fear to help us stay

in OCD4 years ago

The fear isn't in the failure of the platform, it is in the failure of the self, the failure to be that creative human and put oneself out into the space to be open for the world. Steem helps people face their fears.

EXACTLY!

There's something about this community that helps one want to fix the reflection of themselves. You called me a poet... I am but I have gotten better because of being here. I am getting better.

I have NEVER been comfortable posting my work online (because Twitter classified it as unclassy and Facebook summed it up as sex addiction and bitterness. Soft erotica and dark poetry) Then I joined Steem and soon after somebody I was following (because of their dark posts) committed suicide. Her death and how it was talked about collectively ushered me into a world where it was actually okay not to be okay. Imagine facing such a fear after years of holding shit together in different social platforms.

I take back my 'Steem has a way of making one stay even amidst all the fear.' It's this community. The people in it 💜

Sort:  

There's something about this community that helps one want to fix the reflection of themselves.

Perhaps it is that so much of life is looking outward to survive and here gives the space to look inwardly and the time to adjust. Not everyone chooses to adjust however.

It is okay not to be okay, but it is not okay to expect others to make you okay. I see it as, we all live our own lives, even in death. In some ways, the community support that the internet has brought has given us access to help, but it can also be a crutch to recovery.

!ENGAGE 25

I think I am those who chose to adjust everything. Expectations topping that list and more of working on myself other than expecting others to customize how they treat me.

Agreeing with the fact that in the end we are indeed all alone. It's always mind opening to explore your perspective. Asante :)

Life is a constant series of readjustments. I find it interesting that in a continually changing world, how many believe that being unmoved is a good approach.



@tezmel you have received 25 ENGAGE from @tarazkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61119.19
ETH 2615.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65