You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Takeback by Buyback?

in OCD4 years ago

I think it is legally for sale. The stake the community has on that stake might not be legally binding. But the Stake JS bought could very well be his. He doesn't care about social agreements.

Imagine 5M Steem on the market each week. I think he would still get out with a profit.

Sort:  

Yeah, I'm also leaning towards it is now legally his. Witnesses should have probably just removed voting rights if anything. But here we are. I'd rather be on the witnesses side as I was liking how things were going. I don't think Justin or Tron will help us now.

I don't see much real cooperation is possible. If anything, a terse withdrawal and a call of draw to save face.

Yes. Call off the marriage. Don't hard fork anything over this. Complex decisions on governance cannot be made when knives are out.

Let him keep 5~15 witnesses to protect his stake. Agree not to vote on anything else, but sell as desired to profit. Not sure if they can agree on a rate to sell at (like 1 million a month) until the legality is cleared up. If it ends uo being determined it is ours he probably has the cash to rebuy and transfer.

I don't think a suitable arrangement will be reached. What he wants, many in the community will not agree to. It is obvious by the requests that they do not understand the mechanics at all.

It is also obvious where what they do understand is coming from. Removing downvotes is an absolutely terrible idea.

Yeah I'm really skeptical. He is a clever business guy. Witnesses are clever IT guys (some are damn good negotiators and business guys, too). But worst, he bought something a community believes it owns or at least benefits from like 'the commons' and has absolutely no idea what he is doing, in this case, having never done it before (has a social network community blockchain been sold?).

It reminds me a little of this pipeline project in Canada that has all the natives protesting across the country. Or when a corporation wants to drill for oil. Even if they own it, people nearby have been enjoying the community as it stands and now get understandably pissed off when he wants to bulldoze it because it becomes a serious environmental concern (this is assuming he legally is entitled).

It's a new territory. We should definitely make it a long and painful process. He isn't stealing candy from a baby.

It si all a very good test for how community interaction and governance works. I am kind of glad that this came up now, rather than later - or after Ned just ran it all into the ground. I am hoping that we will all come out the other side of this not only stronger, but better off. There are plenty of win-win options, as long as people negotiating keep their freaking egos in check.

Yeah, I have a crackpot theory that this is an experiment. In any case, I expect it will be a case study. Social network blockchains are not studied very often. I don't even know what field could research this case or how it would be done.

Maybe Justin can make a 'Steemit Movie' like the facebook one.

I know what my favourite scene will be...

Do you like @abitcoinskeptic or do you want to fuck him!!!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57320.16
ETH 2472.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31