A Stroll around South Shields’ ‘Curry Road’ at Dusk

in OCD4 years ago

IMG_1530.JPG

As my job entails me to work away during the week I have been staying in South Shields (South Tyneside) for the best part of a year now, at many of the Bed and Breakfast Guest houses mostly on Ocean Road or what the locals term “Curry Road”.

Map.JPG

The name has been gained with reputation as this long stretch of road is around ¾ mile and is literally filled with curry restaurants and takeaways on one side and equally so with B&B’s on the other side.

IMG_1541.JPG

They appear to celebrate Christmas all year round in South Shields, the lights never go out!

IMG_1544.JPG

I decided to walk down the road from one end to the other and counted well over THIRTY different eateries. Most are Indian, but there’s also Fish Restaurants, Chinese, Lebanese and some others too.

IMG_1538.JPG

I can probably name most of the Bed and Breakfast Guest houses on the opposite side of the road having stayed in many of them. I did notice a sign on the door of the bedroom in the rooms of one guest house I won’t name but have stayed at; ‘Curry’s can stain the sheets, absolutely not allowed in the room’, the landlord is speaking from experience I guess?

During my lengthy time in this area I have only frequented one of these Indian restaurants, the ‘Asha Bali House’ which was very good and speaking to the locals I chose one of the best.

IMG_1534.JPG

There is also the most highly rated Fish and Chip shop in South Shields on “Curry Road” with the name of Coleman’s. This is according to the website TripAdvisor of which I feel is quite subjective when food is the topic.

IMG_1537.JPG

I have tried Colman’s and it’s OK but not up to the quality of the Yorkshire chippies!

This is a STEEM reprint of a post from 2 years ago.. - Glad I don't have to to to Sunderland every week and stay over, what a drag that was.

Whats sucks is I did miss all the delicious Urbex targets in the north-east, as 2 years go it wasn't my thing.

Added a fitting tag, you have to be accurate in your tagging or risk flagging.

RedLine.png


CurieCurator.jpg

  • Earn Passive Manna by simply signing up for it here. Mannabase is a Universal Basic Income Cryptocurrency
  • Earn STEEM and digital cards while playing STEEM Monsters, the best game on the STEEM Blockchain here.

RedLine.png

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

I like the last of your tags as I fell the smell ob beer and fun

Hehe, nobody else noticed it.. not even @meesterboom himself!

I remember this post - maybe one of the first times we interacted?

I think so, over 2 years this one.. March 26th 2018.. how time flies!

Lol, I didn't notice the tag!! Very good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57929.49
ETH 2354.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44