Sort:  

That one was specifically why I added 'interpret the videos as you feel right' or whatever. Though I do suspect some foul play, it is indeed only suspicion and I think it's insightful in a broader sense; this is the narrative going on in many people mind's and people are too scared to speak out - this part is not BS. I know because my Chinese and even foreign friends are scared to use WeChat to discuss anything remotely controversial, and several of my friends have been banned, several having police come to their homes for saying something in a group chat, and beyond.

There is a silent voice not being heard, so I think, propaganda or not, it plays to an audience that needs a voice.

After all, the things she says ARE true: Lawyers are detained for doing the right thing, people are detained for criticizing the government (hell, even singing the anthem badly for 2 seconds gets you arrested, fined and career ruined), people do support the independence of regions and there is a perpetual fight for them.

Etc.

And finally, it plays to my point I've consistently raised; who, what can we believe when the only news is state-owned and controlled? People inevitably have to take it into their own hands, and we find ourselves in a situation where we have a mountain of content, 50% is a conspiracy (US made the virus etc), 50% is legit. And we have to personally take it all at face value and use our education (which Chinese lack because of censorship), to figure out the truth.

The video is definitely a part of this story. The first time I saw it it made me want to get on a plane immediately. But then I examined the source and realized that that woman did not have my best interests in mind, rather she wanted to spread fear and loathing that supported her own agenda. For that reason, screw her.

But yeah, it's hard to tell what is real and what is not, both in the US - where CNN and other sources are exploiting this virus as just another news moment that pays the balls, like Katrina or a mass shooting. And also in China - where at least it's overt that the news is edited and curated to show the best face.

Reading between the lines of media is an invaluable asset to the modern man. No matter where they live.

Cheers to that. I'm trying to do a proper scientific post on things but... it's proving a bit of a head-scratcher in some areas, conflicting info galore... sigh.

Yeah, it's really tough.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97