You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Showcase-Sunday: My Kokoda Trek experience: TWO

in OCD4 years ago

WHYY DID YOU PICK THE GRENADES UP D:

And also did you go for a rainforest hike BEFORE you went on this one? I'm going to hazard a no as while you may be emphasising to readers who haven't been inside a rainforest before how "interesting" it can be walking through them, you sounded mildly surprised about it to me XD

Sort:  

I lived in Cairns, far north Queensland so am fairly familiar with rainforests I'd say. This wasn't a hike, it was a trek; There is in fact a difference. There was no surprise about the rain forest, I'm just trying to write in a mildly interesting way. I could be more pragmatic of course, but that wouldn't be as interesting I think.

I have trekked all over the world, had a lot of experience with rain forests, and just about every type of environment, but looking like a know-it-all wasn't the way I wanted to come across. I've spent my life in the outdoors doing stuff like this, but writing it matter of factly didn't seem the right way to go...It's not a guidebook or training manual. I've read many of those and never really found them engaging.

I picked up the grenades as I knew they would not go off. They were rusted up and the fuse mechanism, after so many years would not operate. Sure, they're still explosive, but I took a punt they would not do so in the 20 seconds I had them in hand. I've had some experience in this area so it was all good. I survived.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63687.39
ETH 3309.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93