Our No Brand, Bargain, Freaking Awesome RoofTop Tent: Expeditions, Here We Come (One Day!)

in OCD5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

Nope , i don't have a rooftop tent . Don't think they ever made them for my type of car . Just basic camp gear with a normal tent for longer stays , preferred it be at a site that allows open fire to cook on or keep warm . While on the move the passenger seat makes a good bed for short stops to get some sleep . For my planned next trip i added a lot of tools a generator , batteries , solar cells and even a welding machine . And yes , a 12 volt fridge .
I love the looks on the landrover , and that roof-tent keeps the sun from shining directly on the roof . cool ;-)

the Honda.JPG

Oh what a sweet camp. Carlife camps are just as perfect. They DO fit on ordinary cars... lots of weekenders use them here...they just sit on roofracks. I didn't think of that but yeah... it would stop the sun a bit. I also.like the view from the top and no snakes up there, or ants, or dirt lol. Lovely camp you have there!

Here's an example, just from internet. They are pricey and you clearly have your set up how you like it but thought you might find it interesting...
Screenshot_20200226064320_Google.jpg

I was planning on a relaxing road trip , from the Netherlands to Greece , make stops and camps at nice places and so on . A roof-rack tent would have bin great for that . But ongoing global virus problems changed my plan . Italy already on lock-down so i better get to Greece as soon as i can .
Picture was made above the pool circle way up north of Sweden during a 11 day rainy road trip back in 2017 .

Nice!! Have fun with it. Where does the boards go when there is a tent on the roof?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Strapped to top. Don't worry... we aren't leaving boards behind!

Never leave the House without the Board! 😂

That's an old car O_O

Indeedy doodly..

Awesome 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm not much for camping, myself... Though this looks really cool! Looks like you're going to have a grand old time. Can't wait to see your (mis)adventures with them soon :-)

Thankyou! We are travelling to India/UK and Europe soon... then road trips upon return.

I LOVE great deals like that! It seems so very functional and versatile. I hope you enjoy it lots while on the road.

Haha, we are bargain queens!

Aye! And I've got 6 - 8 weeks before the season starts again....Sigh....

That @galenkp is a nosy bugger huh? Lol.

Actually it was just professional curiosity, and as a camper myself just had to know what's up!

Anyway, it looks legit! A good price too. Most RTT's run into $1200 (like the ARB one) and are pretty much Chinese made rubbish.

I assume the first few set-ups will take a bit longer but what sort of set up time do you think you'll get down to? (Not that set up time is of major concern when one is footloose and fancy free.)

So, you've seen my camper trailer set up in a post I think so I'll not rehash it here.

Well, it took half an hour to figure it out and set up. The interior is already a loungreoom and has cooking facilities. As Jamie sets up the tent, I set up dinner... I reckon 15 mins tops. Longer camps can take more tarpology skills of course...I always reckon the longest thing is getting the park up just right! And if its a quick overnight sleep, we can sleep in back.

Yeah.. they are SO expensive. We could afford one but with all the other kit... ugh. But we also love getting pre loved stuff, and especially older stuff that can be made SO well! This is sturdy as.

Your camp set up is awesome! I do think its a national pastime here! The elusive perfect camp...

I'd say 15 minutes isn't too bad at all and I reckon you'd probably shave that down in time anyway. I don't mind that activity...after a long drive it can be good to move about...Besides, it makes sitting beside that campfire more enjoyable after a little work.

We normally camp away from people but one of the cool things of being around others is seeing their set ups. I think you'll get a lot if curiosity from others with yours. It's pretty cool, vehicle and all.

hello i like those catches
happy dog day especially haha

What an adventure before the actual event. One thing I wonder though is how much time it takes to set it up. Now I'm reminded of my parents arguing over setting up the tent on several Summer Holiday camping trips, haha. It was never the best time of the trip, when everybody was already tired from the traveling.

Not saying that the two of you can't set up a tent without arguing but it sure helps that you have the option to sleep inside the Landrover too.

And then I read the comments and saw - to my surprise - that it only takes fifteen minutes to half an hour or so. Impressive!

Have a safe and amazing trip!

xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65