'Chola Polao' (Chick pea with fragrant rice) from our local traditional cuisine!

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

It's the month of Ramadan and this was our first day of fasting. Traditionally we prepare different meals to break our fast during the evening. It's 14 hours long fasting so ensuring nutritious food is a must. Also as in this long time, the sugar level goes low so it's better to have some dessert too.

Today, I'm sharing a very traditional recipe with you. This is one of our 'must-have' dishes for the whole month. You may not see this around Bangladesh. Mostly people from our locality (Northwest part of Bangladesh) prepare this item. It needs lots of ingredients for sure but delicious to eat.

IMG_20200425_181936.jpg

What we need?

  • Chickpea
  • Fragrant rice
  • Garam masala (Cumin, Coriander, Cardamom, Cinnamon, Cloves, Bay leaves)
  • Ginger and garlic paste
  • Salt
  • Turmeric powder (optional)
  • Onion
  • Green chilli

How to prepare?

Sock the rice for a few minutes and chickpea for at least 12 hours.

IMG_20200425_165254.jpg

IMG_20200425_213453.jpg

Put all the masala with ginger & garlic paste, onion slices and cook for a few minutes until golden brown.

IMG_20200425_165248.jpg

Put the rice on the pot and fry for another few minutes.

IMG_20200425_165333.jpg

You can put some traumatic powder to make it yellowish but not necessary.

IMG_20200425_165429.jpg

Add a similar portion of hot water like the rice.

IMG_20200425_165523.jpg

Cook until the water reduces in low heat. Add some green chilli before you turn off the heat.

IMG_20200425_181853.jpg

I usually put pre-cooked chickpea into the rice. So I add the chickpea before I turn off the oven. But if you don't want to do that you can just put the chickpea before the rice and cook for several minutes until it becomes soft. I found it easier if you use pre-cooked chickpea because it takes time to cook them.

IMG_20200425_181943.jpg

And, it's done!

We usually add several other food items in our plate along with this dish. People love to have this with different deep-fried items. Also, many take it with spicy curry.

I cook it just today's evening. So all the pictures are right from my kitchen. I hope you like my recipe and captures.

Stay home and stay safe.

THANKS FOR YOUR LOVE AND SUPPORT!

Much Love

text16.png
Who I am?
I'm a Happy and Proud stay home Mom. I have a toddler boy and a beautiful family.
I had my University degree in 'Public Administration' and later did my Post Graduation in 'Human Resource Management'. I also gathered experience working with HR in a multinational Organization. Besides that and most importantly; I'm a life & nature enthusiast, I love to learn human psychology, I'm a 'Book worm' and very introvert but also love to travel. I'm trying to live mindfully and sure, I'm a positive learner.

Find me on other Social Places
Twitter Facebook Discord

Proudly supporting

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgn3kLhX4mFyfEDYop.png

vM1pGHgNcyCXUWJECrZbvn1NMPj1oFGUo3gYfF3NNPRD9bTqisvs9xgB75G9xPgZbPT4QuApQtpz6ThdHJ584iLp3K2DCBSTkTAky9Uw1ambwSjhpTFxnMpgTQk62VyQomsFW7g.png

MINDFULLIFE.png

ecotrain-banner3.png

Sort:  

Hi @rem-steem, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @zayedsakib!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy and/or by delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Thanks @zayedsakib for the support!

Hello rem-steem :). I like the recipe. I often make dishes with these ingredients. I resteem it. Thanks a lot. Are you all well? I am working every day again.

That's great.
Share your cooking. I would love to see.
I'm doing pretty fine. Have a nice day dear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76