You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Obstacles to putting pen to paper — why we don't write

in OCD4 years ago

@jerrytsuseer,

Jerry ... stop picking on Jerry!

As Aristotle opined 2,600 years ago, Virtue is to be found between two extremes of Vice.

You will find very few great artists that are not self-critical for it is that self-criticism that drives them to perfect. And make no mistake, one does not achieve perfection without striving for it. That said, when perfectionism becomes pathological, it paralyzes, and hence becomes counter-productive. At some point, you simply have to say "no more," publish and live with the consequences.

If, at first, you can't find that balance on your own, find a mentor with a mouth bigger than your own. Everything has its place, including tyranny.

Quill

Sort:  

What an unusual reply! Enlightening as well.
If only I could put that admonition into play, but alas, at this late stage of life,
I seriously doubt I could effect such a significant "self change". I've been trying to
Do just that for years, (and believe it or not, I am really a lot better now days)
And I HAVE "said no more", published (or rather posted) and am still living with
The negative repercussions
(rocketing around inside my own head, echoing with cries of: "You should have left out that last paragraph" etc...)
but I take your meaning @quillfire, and I REALLY do appreciate the comment, encouragement and input.
Thank you so much!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70