Sort:  

Cross posting your own work can be seen a reward-pool abuse and many accounts are not voting on those that do so. Just letting you know. It is your prerogative to do it though.

what do you mean? how do i post then?

If you want to place a post into the Community then simply do so. Posting it on your blog then cross posting it creates a second post with a link the the first which then means you may get double rewards off the one post...On the original and the cross post.

If I cross post your post then that's considered legitimate, if you do it, it can be considered as reward pool abuse, like you're trying to get double payment from the one post. I came across a guy last night that cross posted his own post into 14 different communities...The same post. Hardly seems fair right? He was downvoted by one of the witness's and is now on the radar for people who will seek to stamp out reward pool abuse. That's not a good list to be on.

If you want your poetry to be posted into a Community then post it there, do not cross post it. All you will receive from habitually cross posting your own work is downvotes and people will avoid your posts like a plague. You may get away with it for a couple of times, but once it is noticed word will spread and you'll find it doesn't help you in the least bit.

Does any of this makes sense?

If I come across a post I think needs some promotion maybe I cross post it which will mean it will gain the same sort of rewards that my own posts get or more. The original author gets 90% of the post reward, the cross poster (me in this case) get's 5% and 5% goes to the Community. It's not designed for users to cross post every single thing they do.

I liked your poem, which attracted me to it in the first place...When I saw you had also cross posted it I hose not to vote it. I also curate for @curangel and won't send it there either...The reason is that my name gets attached to it and I don't want to look like someone supporting self-cross-posting. It's a shame because some of the work I see is really good.

To help build your brand here, you are better off engaging with people, commenting and building relationships. Cross posting your own work will destroy them.

I read your comment, you explained it well. i was away for a while, i haven't been on steem for like some months and i was not aware of these new rules and i just discovered the addition of these communities. i will post on my blog from now on.
thanks for reading my poems, i thought no one would read them.
so, if i don't do it, everything will go back to normal? or i just messed everything up?
oh, and thanks for taking the time to explain it to me, i really appreciate it.

It's all good, it is catching many people out which is why I take the time to comment. You won't have done any damage so don't worry. I'll even throw you some votes and send something to @curangel for you considering you have responded as you have. Don't stress about it. Place posts inside a community if you like, just don't cross post them.

Also, if you put something into a community it will list in your posts tab...To put it into your blog tab so your followers can see it you will to resteem it there. That is considered quite ok. I do it myself.

All the best.

thanks so much, i really appreciate your help.
yes i will see further how other people do it, to understand better how it works.

You're welcome.

!ENGAGE 25



@poemsofasickmind you have received 25 ENGAGE from @galenkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Congratulations @poemsofasickmind! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 50 posts. Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59