Just a small town kind of day

in OCD5 years ago (edited)

21638F5B-1712-48BE-A05F-32F5D25214B7.jpeg

It’s just a small town kind of day. I’ve driven for about 30 minutes now from my home, and arrived in a small town just outside Salem New Jersey. I’ve driven through this town many times before and to tell you the truth I’ve only seen a handful of people every time I come through. I often wonder is this town abandoned? But I answered my own question today when I decided to stop in to a convenient store and buy a soda and a hoagie. The gentleman behind the counter, when I asked the question if anybody else lives in this town, he laughed and laughed. He wiped his eyes and said to me you got that right friend! Sometimes I think nobody lives here until lunchtime rolls around and everybody shows up. Ha ha I had a good laugh with him. As they prepared my sandwich I looked around the very very tiny deli and there is only one seat by the front door. My order was up, so I paid for my sandwich and my soda, because they were is no tables, I left and ate in my truck.

The picture above is a dilapidated building, that almost looks like it was built in the wild west. It sets across the street from the deli. It almost looks like it used to be an old hotel or something like that.

On the opposite corner is another dilapidated building that should probably be torn down, but it’s pretty cool looking with all the brick an old trim. It’s probably full of rats and raccoons and other animals. I guess it’s a home for somebody!

9E542BF9-AF24-4B16-970A-503655B640F8.jpeg

As you drive through town you see all kinds of trash. What I mean by trash is not garbage but all the washers, old tubs sinks toilets, pieces of fencing fallen down, just junk. I did see the old Mustang and snapped a picture as I drove by slowly. It looks used and has an antique license plates of somebody lives in this town. I’d love to have one of these old Mustangs to fix up.

58B97DCD-9BEC-4EF1-94D8-ED52FFE7D2C2.jpeg

This is a view right down the main street as I drove into town and before I got to the buildings above. Like you can see there’s not much activity as far as people, no cars driving around, no schools with kids screaming and throwing things, nothing at all except me and my hunger.

4B1F509B-F356-48F9-AFF0-4DDFEC3C6479.jpeg

This is the view heading into town. Just a long straight road from one place in the middle of nowhere to another place in the middle of nowhere. It’s lined with an awful lot of electrical wires. The town sure is heck doesn’t use much power but this road leads sort of to the same area where there’s a nuclear power plant. Oh fun!

9FB2D5B4-41B5-476C-A589-A681E21842F7.jpeg

Heading out of town there is this neat little store that sells animal feed of all kinds, and other miscellaneous items that you would need to raise animals. They mostly just carry feed though. I think they sell some chickens as well. They built the thing off close to the road! LOL. Just your typical farm/country landscape.

40B5BCAD-0E52-4644-961F-9CC117733827.jpeg

Speaking of farm and country landscapes, I thought I would take a few photographs of a couple of farms on the way out of this little town. Do you have a couple of country homes with silos and Barnes. Not too many cattle farmers around this area although there are a few. Mostly everyone out in this area is growing so he beans or corn. Sometimes you find other things growing but not very often.

BC6D609D-8BC9-42B9-967B-2021EEBC3D04.jpeg

E3824A73-52A3-4964-9F02-B92554D50369.jpeg

Another country home sort of looks like the same one from above but a little bit smaller and a little bit different. Still a farmhouse nonetheless. I I think I counted like 12 sheds. After all that money spent on sheds they could’ve had a nice poll barn.

159B26CA-12D9-4FFE-A165-72A2F702B31A.jpeg

This is what I’m talking about. A nice little farmhouse with a nice size pole barn for tractors and equipment. One silo for some grain. They must not store much they probably sell off most of it right from the field. I don’t think most of these silos are used anymore anyhow.

297C66E3-897D-4C50-87FA-EEACDD952964.jpeg

Well that’s it for now I have to go. Just wanted to show you a little bit of my travels today. A town that I’ve passed through 1 million times on my way to Salem, and can’t remember seeing anyone except the guy that sold me my sandwich and soda today.

I sort of felt like I was in the twilight zone!

Maybe I was.

Sort:  

Congratulations @pesttopia! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 40 posts. Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49