Patience to get the ultimate achievement!steemCreated with Sketch.

in OCD5 years ago (edited)

IMG_8749 (2).JPG

This is the shot that I was waiting for and it took a long time to come!

Many of us struggle with the word patience don't we? We want everything immediately and we are fond of using the other popular abbreviation ASAP!
Well life doesn't work like that and in our rush we regularly frustrate ourselves. Have a look at what I found on my walk in our garden this morning, and the challenge that I set myself to get the shot above.
Come and join me!

IMG_8678.JPG

To get a shot of the full underside of a man made dragonfly is easy, as it can't fold it's blades!

IMG_8721.JPG

You see, dragonflies sit on things and it is difficult to get full open shot of their underside if they sit on high in a tree!

IMG_8729.JPG

Almost got it here, but it came in and sat too fast. The sun is a problem and the drag's speed is another problem!
At this stage I have already taken about 10 shots of it coming to land and taking off with no luck.
But I continued to wait and watch!

IMG_8741 (2).JPG

This guy (falcon) appeared out of nowhere and flew over as I was aiming my camera at the dragonfly at the top of the tree!

IMG_8733.JPG

Back to the dragonfly and I continued to try and get the shot that I wanted.

IMG_8735 (2).JPG

Oh man, I almost had him here and it was so close!

IMG_8749 (2).JPG

Bang! Finally, at last I got him full on and as I was dancing guess what happened?

IMG_8726.JPG

Another different dragonfly, a "Yellow Presba" came to sit at the top of a small "Spekboom" bush!

IMG_8771.JPG

So I took a shot of this one's upper side to show you both the top and the bottom of dragonflies!

IMG_8744 (2).JPG

And guess what? The falcon also came swooping over again. Due to space constraints in our small garden, I can only get one shot of them before they disappear!

IMG_8851 (2).JPG

In closing I present you with this late afternoon moon shot!

Yes, I took many shots of the red "Russet Dropwing" dragonfly and it must have taken me about 2 hours to get that open shot, but the result speaks for itself, as I got what I wanted. Now if I had rushed my shots over a short period I would most certainly not only have felt frustrated, but I would also have failed to get the shot that I wanted.
This is how mother nature teaches us her secrets, and patience is one of her main ones.

Oh yes, there are many things that need to be done in a rush, such as emergencies and other life threatening situations, but then again there are also many instances where we acted too fast only to rue the results afterwards.
Moses, a prince in Egypt fled the land because he had killed a man and he became a shepherd in a distant land for 40 years. Then God called him and he led the nation out of Egypt to wander in the desert for another 40 years. After 80 years Moses achieved his objective. Now that was patience!

Now I am not saying that you and I have to wait for a large number of years for anything, but what I am saying is that at times patience is a much better option than spurious actions, and you will also have better results.
It is our own haste that trips us up many times.
Think about it!

Note: I source the dragonfly specie names from my book, "Dragonflies and Damselflies of South Africa"
Authors; Warwick and Michele Tarbotom

We hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Connecting the people of #STEEM across South Africa. #steemsa JOIN US ON DISCORD (South Africans Only) JOIN US ON TWITTER JOIN US ON FACEBOOK

center>signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone<

steem verified!.png

Sort:  

I guess he was trying to cooperate with you but just had difficulties communicating.

I haven't seen any dragon flies since the summer here, but I'm sure they will be back.

Excellent shot. It was worth the effort.

Well I tried to whisper love songs Lol
Your drags will come my friend when it's their time.
Glad that you liked the shot!
Blessings!

Thank you kindly my friend.
Blessings!

He who perseveres wins and you win big! The images are more than spectacular! Well done!

My mom used to say that when I start something I bite into it like a bull dog and I don't let go my friend.
Perseverance always delivers the goods.
Glad that you liked the images.
Blessings!

Esta publicación ha sido seleccionada para el reporte de Curación Diaria.

final de post.png¡¡¡Felicidades!!!

Thank you very much my kind friends!
Blessings!

✅✌🤗🤗

👌 ❤️ 👌

one beautiful dragonfly!

And one great thank you!
Blessings!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @priyanarc.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Loading...

Any shot of a dragonfly comes with a dash of patience with them bobbing and weaving throughout the garden.

Falcon being overhead hanging on the air is another great piece of photography with them swooping overhead you really have to be ready, being summer most the garden is giddy with movement not wishing to sit or settle for too long.

Problem is the sharp African sun Lady Joan, many times I simply get blanked out in shots, but thankfully I also get some shots in that is fairly clear.
Not the ultimate, but good enough for posting.
You are right, as they go over so fast, but I have done my training on the drag shots and a falcon is a much bigger target.
Hope your weekend is good thus far.
Blessings!

Beautiful photos - your patience really did pay off! I agree patience is a wonderful virtue to have and to be more patient with our fellow men too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58415.58
ETH 2485.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39