Dark hours of the soul!steemCreated with Sketch.

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

IMG_1485.JPG

Most of us have experienced this! Troubled times of severe gloom and despondency!
These are the times that are designed to make us stronger!

Today I will introduce you to the artist Brandon Borgelt who created this masterpiece.
Apart from nature, I also love art and it is always so fitting when a sculpture or a painting speaks to me.
Not physically of course, but I call it soul talk.
I would say that most of us were in the same situation at some time or another, or even right now.
Let's see what the artist has to say about this!

IMG_1487.JPG

This sculpture is called "Fallen" and as I saw it I was reminded about my own dark times!

IMG_1484.JPG

"I always prefer to leave interpretation open to the viewer but this piece conjures up images and emotions of someone going through immense emotional or spiritual pain and anxiety. For this reason, I have left his eyes hollow since they are traditionally the windows of the soul which he may or may not have at this point. 2018 and 2019 were particularly challenging for me and this piece took on a far greater meaning for me as it came to represent my own “Dark Night of the Soul” as did my follow up Angel, “Redemption”.

"It occurred to me that they had both been almost premonitions of a deep spiritual upgrade that was still to happen and only after sculpting them did they take on their full meaning and symbolism. The feedback that I have had reinforces the idea that almost everyone at some point in their life has been challenged to their limit and have felt utterly drained and devastated but have finally emerged stronger and better off for the experience".
Source

IMG_1490.JPG

"Art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday." Pablo Picasso

IMG_1492.JPG

I am afraid that I am currently in two of these situations, not of my own doing, , but very dark and troubling.
Our world as I know it is slowly falling down around my ears.
The first problem that creates the sad bereavement within in me is the stripping of the wildlife from the African continent. Take a look at this!
"60% of primate species are now threatened with extinction!
The average value of the market for African live apes is between $2.1 million and $8.8 million each year!
Approximately 8000 chimpanzees , gorillas and bonobos are killed each year for food!
Primates are slow breeders and their populations do not recover quickly"!
Source

The second issue is a fight here on steemit between persons, for some reasons, with the result that all innocent parties are now included in this fight. I have a list of 40 names that have downvoted our charity thus far and there might even be more that I have missed. In yesterday's post one downvoter succeeded in taking $0.07 from our post and where is all of this going? As a charity we need every cent and I think that we have to contend with some very dark souls here.
To all of those that downvote a charity, I don't want to be in your shoes when your turn comes.
Taking food from a poor child's mouth is a terrible thing to do!

And finally that's my beef my friends, but as Brandon the artist stated above, we will overcome and we will emerge even stronger!

Note: All photos are my own, unedited and only cropped for uploading purposes.
All sections with inverted commas ("") were duly cited.
My camera is a Canon Powershot SX60 HD.

Don't forget to have a look at @Steempeak

Thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Connecting the people of #STEEM across South Africa. #steemsa JOIN US ON DISCORD (South Africans Only) JOIN US ON TWITTER JOIN US ON FACEBOOK

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone</<center<

steem verified!.png

Sort:  

I do like that sculpture. Sorry to hear about the downvotes- here is a 100% vote to offset it just a little!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you and you are a very kind person my friend.
My way of doing things, is that if I have an issue with someone, I sort it out with them directly and I never involve other innocent parties.
This revenge downvoting habit can also not be good for new entrants to steemit. A real mess.
Blessings!

It is a beautifully thought provoking sculpture!

I have left his eyes hollow since they are traditionally the windows of the soul which he may or may not have at this point.

You can tell by everything said that this piece of work was all consuming.

Brilliant!

Glad that you liked it @jaynie and the part that grabbed me is how we emerge stronger after every dark soul instance.
That sculpture certainly embodies many personal memories and I am sure that many can identify with it. The old adage of the Phoenix rising from the ashes struck my soul when I first saw it!
Blessings!

Yes, I can see why you "saw that" when looking at it.

The answer to "Fallen" is "Endurance"

I hear you on that one :)

That artwork speaks volume to me! As soon as I saw it, I remembered an old poem I wrote years back while I was fighting my dark hours.

Thank you my friend and I think that the sculpture holds memories for all of us. I think it was Plato or some other word sage that said; a life without self introspection is a life not worth living.
Yes, it reminds one of the dark moments, but it also reminds one of how we overcame those dark moments. And most of us emerged stronger every time.
Blessings!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

A kind thank you to #innerblocks and @hafizullah
Blessings!

We will all , no doubt, go through the our ‘dark night of the soul sometime on this planet Sir Stephen. I went through mind a few years ago and will not completely recover from the loss.

That is very upsetting about the killing of the wildlife. I pray this will stop.

Sorry for your downvotes. It’s not right. I have been downvoted quite a few times too. Why they put that feature on is beyond my reasoning.

Blessings my friend and onward and upwards. 💕

Thank you Lady Jo and sorry about your "dark hour".
The sculpture certainly resonated with me as I had a few dark hours over the years. One sister left of our whole family and other issues certainly clouded many days for me.
But I am grateful to still be alive and serving my purpose to help the poor!
Blessings!

Congratulations @papilloncharity! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 16500 replies. Your next target is to reach 17000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you kindly for the notice.
@steemiboard Rocks!
Blessings you guys!

I wasn't personally involved with the devastation that many people experienced when the fires went wild here in many areas of Oz, during our summer. Apart from not wanting to go anywhere because of all the smoke.

Many people have lost everything ~ Loved ones and property. But through this time we have seen how strong our bush is and quick to regenerate and how the Aussie spirit is likewise so strong and compassionate.

And I think it can be said that it's as true here as anywhere where there has been great despair and heartbreak, that the human spirit is resilient beyond our knowing.

Sorry to hear that people have been down-voting ~ You more than anyone are so deserving of everything you earn at Steemit. It's crazy why people would do that but then it's hard to understand so much of the craziness that still exists in this world. On the other hand it's still such a beautiful and caring world. Bye for now @papilloncharity. I'm hoping to make my way back to Steemit again very soon. ⚖️⚖️🕊⚖️⚖️

Nothing like a disaster to bring people together and to display their true colors my friend. Yes,nature will certainly regenerate itself, but the losses have changed many lives and resulted in many changed minds regarding the need to be kind to all others.
Sometimes we need an event like this to spark the flame of community love and care. To draw people closer together and to show the spirit of resilience to the world. Aussies are fighters and our prayers were with all of you during the disaster. Still even now during the recovery period!

Regarding the sordid business of downvoting, it continues and I fear that it is going to drive many people away, but such is life my friend.
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32