A priceless collection of old cars!steemCreated with Sketch.

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

IMG_4212.JPG

Happy Friday to all! Come and ride with us!
All of these are model cars, painstakingly assembled to exact specifications in a private glass cabinet!

I was invited to have a look, see here...and let me tell you that I have never seen something like this before.
At first the owner was a bit hesitant, but then I got permission to slide the glass doors open and to take some pictures of this great collection. Very obvious that the cars are exact replicas of the original cars.

My favorite is in the last 2 photos!

Come and see what beauties I have here!

IMG_4215.JPG

I could only identify a few cars, but rather hastened to show you the beauty and a few of you may be able to identify the cars!

IMG_4216.JPG

This one looks like a Ford Fairlane, but I don't know the model. (Victoria?)

IMG_4217.JPG

The left front headlight has gone awol here on this car!

IMG_4218.JPG

I would love to see this one with it's roof taken off!

IMG_4213.JPG

I think the lighting decal on the hood belonged to one of three manufacturers? Opel, Zephyr or Consul?
Bear in mind that in South Africa we have different car brand names!

IMG_4210.JPG

I was a bit biased here, as I like the old Chevrolets, or Chevvies, as we call them and the next four photos are of different model Chevrolets (including the photo above)

IMG_4207.JPG

IMG_4205.JPG

IMG_4204.JPG

This one is easy, as it is a 1958 Chevrolet Fury. Imagine today with all of the road fighting between impatient people driving a car called fury Lol.

IMG_4203.JPG

IMG_4195.JPG

Right! Here we have my favorite. This one is the Buick Eight, Rag Top, 1949 model.
They were also called the Buick Eight, convertible.

IMG_4200.JPG

Finally, another view of the Buick here!

And That's All Folks!

We do in fact have a much older Buick Eight running around in the town here and I have posted it before. No use to ask me who owns the collection or where it is as all that I can say is that it's a private collection in pristine condition.
Not a speck of dust can be seen on the cars and they are in a great condition, bar the one that lost it's headlight, but I didn't enquire about it. I was just so grateful to get photos of this rarity.
Many of you might remember your parents, or grandparents driving about in one of these and please feel free to identify any car in the comments here!

Note: All pictures are my own, unedited and only cropped for uploading purposes.
Camera used is my trusty Canon Powershot SX60 HD, on the Auto, or Macro settings!

Remember to also have a look at the front-end called @Steempeak

We hope that you liked the pictures and thank you for visiting @papilloncharity

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Connecting the people of #STEEM across South Africa. #steemsa JOIN US ON DISCORD (South Africans Only) JOIN US ON TWITTER JOIN US ON FACEBOOK

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone</<center<

steem verified!.png

Sort:  

WOw what a cool collection
!trdo
!tip

Congratulations @tattoodjay, you successfuly trended the post shared by @papilloncharity!
@papilloncharity will receive 0.53538975 TRDO & @tattoodjay will get 0.35692650 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thank you JJ, I also thought so, as one doesn't see this often.
I took shots of a few more, but thought that the post was long enough.
Blessings and thank you for the tokens my friend!

Most welcome my friend and i hope your weekend is going well

Same to you my brother!
Blessings to you guys!

🎁 Hi @papilloncharity! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Market Friday Battery Park Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Nice collection on display here Stephen, perhaps missing a headlamp due to it being a favourite and only playing with that one, the others are all in perfect nick.

Yay! There some life here hahaha.
Thank you Lady Joan and I just don't know what's going on here with this post.
It has a nice count of votes, but after 22 hours only 2 comments.
Maybe it's a leap year thing, or everyone is out on end of the month shopping trips Lol.

Hahaha, I am a lucky guy! The time was 4:44pm and I have 22hrs&2 comments on this post.
Which makes it 444 and 222. Must be some meaning to it!
Any case, thank you for the visit.
Blessings!

Playing with numbers, I think it's the weekend mode!

I played my cars to death, literally. My husband's collection still has some of the original boxes which I photographed about 3 years ago collated and must post some time too.

My husband had a marvelous train set we sold years ago since we could not store it anywhere. It was mounted on similar size to an old kitchen table with side walls and lid to preserve. (Personally I think his father had more fun off of it but it was the sons presents over many years....) Ironically it was sold to a charity in Johannesburg in the late 1970's to a team who did fundraising in shopping centers for orphaned children.

Hahaha, such humor in life, as an exchange for the trainset, you have been given a partnership with another charity (Papillon) so many years later.
Your husband certainly had a great train set.
Blessings!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @priyanarc.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Thank you kindly!

wow it looks like real. Awesome collection of old model cars. Beautiful photographs sir..

Thank you my friend!
Blessings!

indeed, super stuff!

Thank you my friend, I really appreciated the way that the cars were so well done and taken care of. Amazing hobbies that some people have.
Blessings!

Congratulations @papilloncharity, your post successfully recieved 0.53538975 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@tattoodjay earned : 0.3569265 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

That's an amazing collection sir papilloncharity, what an opportunity!

I was indeed honored to see it my friend.
So great to see the guy's detailed handiwork.
Blessings!

Well if he made those by himself then I have no idea how he did it!

He bought the kits (imported) and assembled them my friend.
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56519.24
ETH 2991.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16