3 Horses Malta 🐴🐴🐴 My #BeerSaturday #150 Submission 🍺

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

BeerSaturday150Thumb.jpg


This is our family post for the #BeerSaturday #150 Challenge. Both @Sreypov and I are non-drinkers, so we decided to review a malt beverage we often buy here in Paramaribo, Suriname.


🍻#BeerSaturday Challenge #150🍻


🙏 Thanks @Detlev for this challenge! 🙏


🐴🐴🐴 3 Horses Malta 🐴🐴🐴


     I know @Sreypov and I non-drinkers, but I love this challenge so much I previously asked @Detlev if we could do a malt beverage entry some day. With prior approval, we throw our 👒 into the ring.

     Many moons ago I actually worked at a microbrewery in Colorado, and once was highly in tune with the world of beer. That is the distant past now, but I occasionally miss the taste of a dark beer, and a malt beverage sort of fills that void.


The 3 Horses Bottle in all its glory


     Cambodia, the place I called home for 10 years until 2019, didn't really have malt drinks. @Sreypov had never tried one before, and had only ever drank a beer once in her life.

     So, when I discovered that the local cornershop here in Paramaribo, Suriname, sold two varieties of malt drinks, I decided to buy one for the family to try.

     3 HORSES MALTA is what I selected, mostly because it is Dutch and we are in Suriname, so it seemed a colonial fit. The logo says 3 Horses was established in 1628, but I wonder if they put this much sugar in the recipe way back in those days.


sugar, sugar, more sugar and colorants


     It's a 330ml bottle, so at 6.2g of sugar per 100ml, that's 20.5g of sugar in this bottle. It is super duper sweet, and definitely too sweet for my palette.

     Most daily added sugar recommendation maximums are generally 40g to 50g per day, so this bottle is half your daily intake. I hope you're not diabetic, because you might be after you finish the bottle in one sitting.


3 horses sounds better than a horse, a donkey and a unicorn


     At 10 Suriname Dollars, it's roughly $1.25 USD, not terribly expensive by local standards. The flavor was actually pleasant and very caramel-y, like most malt drinks. I was pleased to drink it and immediately discover I had no cavities.

     Next in line for tasting was Monkey B from the @KidSisters. She gladly took the bottle but hesitated to drink it. She sensed it was illegal somehow due to its similarity to a beer bottle.

     In the end, she wouldn't give it a taste because she thought it would get her drunk. She has reason to be careful though. When she was only 2 years old, before I met her mother @Sreypov, she managed to accidentally ingest two huge swigs of rice wine in the Cambodian countryside.


Monkey B would only put the bottle on her lips and smell it


     They were at her Aunt's house where she was unattended for a few minutes and felt thirsty. She saw a large glass with a clear liquid in it, and decided to take a gulp. The first gulp burned and the second gulp let her know it wasn't water. Hearing her retell the story is priceless, as it's one of her first clear memories.

     Since this tasting, @Sreypov has become quite fond of malt drinks, and now enjoys one a week. There is only one other brand available here, VITA MALT, and I'll be sure to do a post on it eventually too. Unfortunately it's even sweeter.


🙏 THANKS FOR READING 🙏

If you enjoyed this post, please upvote and reblog.


Dad
@JustinParke
image.png
Mom
@SreyPov
website coming soon!!
image.png
Srey-Yuu
@KidSisters
Monkey B
@KidSisters

WE SUPPORT
@JoshMan@Canadian-Coconut@TheMarkyMark

LogoBuildAWhale.png
Picture3.png
pinmapplefinal.png

Sort:  

Adding malt is a nice improvement

Just trying to mix it up bro.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 3 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 132 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thanks @trufflepig, let's see what happens.

I've never tryed it

It's okay, a bit too sweet though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59541.21
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53