What Brings More Reward, Audience Or Content?

in OCD4 years ago

PicsArt_02-29-09.20.20-02.jpeg

Image owned & taken by me


One of the biggest conflicts I faced many months ago was asking myself if I should target and bring what my audience wants or better still stay focused on what I was good at and hope the community or my followers will get to see the quality of my intended niche. However I feel this question will keep lingering and remain unanswered but I guess it's time I push it to yo the ask hive community as a question

The truth is that, many have felt that since steem is a social media based platform the intractability of an individual would matter a lot in making a person understand what people wants and giving it to them would have fufilled the essence of blogging. This makes me wonder do we blog because we have an audience that determines what our reward would be like? Or to just develop the innate abilities we have thereby focusing on a niche Irrespective of what audience we have?

When you look well now, the most curated kind of content is photography and art, pencil and well other format of art, now I see more and more people abandoning their original niches to become photographers or artists, now does this means we have art related audience more? Does this proves that satisfying an audience is what brings the desired rewards or actually perfecting one's skills and niche that does it better?

There is heterogeneity when it comes to consumership of content on hive. Since engagement is the one true way to determine what an audience wants. Would it feel right for a person to switch over to other niches that seems rewardable? Would this be called evolving of a content creator or is it just a blogger being driven by greed to make more money? If s person decides to chose audience over niche does this make hive truly decentralized and rewarding based on quality irrespective of niche?

This has been a sort of a conflict, now audience are meant to be the sole reason why there's content in the first place and for a chain as hive, people should also see a reason beyond the money; and that's of course having the satisfaction of consuming contents based on what they love. Is this right? Should we blog because our audience wants it or because we want to enjoy what we do?

So should satisfying audience serve a superior purpose more than concentrating on niche or is this mere greed to get more reward?

I'll like a reply from the community

Sort:  

To me non of that matters all concerns reward. You will definitely enjoy steem with more audience cause it's encouraging to know that people are actually reading your post. You can post just your picture and gets lots of interaction like we see with the big guys.

Reward on steem is about who is willing to support you. That's why some people no matter what the post, they will always get about $5.000 or there about on their post.

That reward is automated. They don't need quality post or interaction, the upvote will definitely come within that range. It's just about who is willing to support you.

Most people like us no matter the quality of content are at the mercy of random voters for good reward.

Yes sadly I share your sentiment, sometimes automation kills everything.

I believe that I should go for want I have passion in and be the best as I can possibly be in that area. I should make sure I give the best content that adds value to my audience then slowly I will begin to build a following of people who love what I offer. It takes time but its worth it.

Well you're right in what you think to be right. Me for one, I've evolved as a writer myself just to do both

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47