You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit and Burnout

in OCD4 years ago

Creative Writing:

What I learned from my high school Creative Writing class was that good writers write even on their bad days. So, I force myself to write even when I don't feel like it. It is like Michael Jordan practicing basketball each day or as often as possible. So, he missed many baskets.

Routine

I force myself to write now on my daily Steemit blog. I confess that so much that I write can be pretty boring or whatever the case may be depending on the day and the topic and the oatmeal. But I keep a minimum routine going. I have a daily template on my computer in my Pluma notepad program, AKA my text editor. So, I make thirty files for each day and have them ready. So, I add to my blog throughout the day and then publish them at the end of each day.

Forced

I just want to emphasize on the value of having a routine. But I'm not saying you have to always stick to routines. You can change them and stop them at any time. And I know routines can be anti creative perhaps. I know that too. So, you can get burnt out for sure. So, that is why you must contemplate your routine periodically. Like once a month, reevaluate your goals and write down your game plan on a piece of paper and stick it to a wall. Don't be too lazy and don't work too hard. You know yourself and you can at least experiment and try out different things to see what works.

Sort:  

They should have really taught me that in my class. Heck. I am en English literature student but there was nothing about this advice passed around.

Creative Writing class was that good writers write even on their bad days. So, I force myself to write even when I don't feel like it.

I begin to see the benefit of writing everyday. It helps me with speed and also more exposure to fancy vocabularies and phrases.

Don't be too lazy and don't work too hard

couldn't agree more. I always try to take a good break. I am notorious for being a sprinter instead having a marathon journey and that's something I am willing to change.

I'm passionate about education. So, to some extent, we all have opportunities of educating people. Sadly, some classes may fail to say things that people need to hear. Being a sprinter is fine to the extent you are able to sprint again and again and again. Because that becomes like a marathon eventually.So, what matters is consistency, persistence, perseverance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.73
ETH 3012.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84